deja vu. again.

The fanboys are getting all excited about 2.0 coming out in time for Christmas. Do these people never learn?

I remember how they rushed 1.0 out to coincide with New Year. And had to rush out a bugfix version two weeks later. I appreciate that if you don’t have deadlines stuff never gets done, but public holidays are a ridiculous time to attempt major releases. Aren’t at least some of your team going to be travelling around and spending time away from the computer? (I know, shocking thought).

I’m still grappling with why RC1 (which, with my usual unerring sense of timing, I installed the day before RC2 came out) was called a ‘release candidate’ when it only had three options under the ‘import’ tab (excluding MT) and the livejournal, b2 and greymatter scripts existed only in the form of empty files. If they were planning on shipping it without half of their previously existing import options they need their heads read. If they weren’t planning on releasing it in that state why the hell were they calling it a release candidate? A release candidate is a candidate for release, is it not? Unless it has some other special meaning I am not quite geeky enough to understand.

It’s all about hype, and timetables — same syndrome as the inflated version numbers. I have yet to find any reason to ‘upgrade’ from 1.5.2 (or whatever the last one was, I can’t keep track) other than that the admin pages are prettier. This is moderately compelling but not quite enough to tempt me into the anguish of FTP.

Leave a Reply

