the undesigned

Two days ago, someone uploaded a templatemonster theme to themes.wordpress.net. Complete with watermarked images. They didn’t even bother giving it a name.

I’m not hugely bothered by the fact it’s stolen, since I’m still a little bitter that templatemonster can get away with charging $57 for the thing and get plugged on the official site when I was made to feel like a criminal for insisting on a bloody link (which wasn’t even sponsored, it was to my own site). But then, I suppose I didn’t have any affiliate dollars to throw Matt’s way. I’m more irritated by the lazy way it was done. It took me less than two minutes to find the images without watermarks.

If you’re going to do something, do it properly.

I think it’s apparent by now that themes.wordpress.net isn’t being done properly. Days since request for access to update my theme and maybe, just maybe, upload a couple of others: 45. Comments left on blog: 5, including the one on the theme itself directing people to download the widgetised version from my own site. Responses from admin: 0.

This site is obviously far too much work for one person, and it is insane to expect one person to run it properly whilst also making a living and keeping their own projects on the go. It was always going to be much work for one person. I don’t entirely understand why the solo approach was even attempted. Unwillingness to relinquish or share the linkage, I suppose (there’s a link to his domains from every page, and links all over a PR7 site are handy things to have around). Still, I think Shadow could be forgiven for experiencing some schadenfreude round about now.

7 Comments »

  1. adam said

    infuriating indeed. but then again, ripping the unwatermarked images from some poor sap who bought the theme is a little more evil than just finding a loophole in their site security (or however it was that she managed to get the theme without paying).

    it’s clear that thomas needs help. but then, there’s the problem of finding people who aren’t maladjusted geeks to help out.

  2. milo said

    She did the same with one of my themes, Dawn, used it at her site and claimed it as her work, if interested, check the last three posts and comments or drop me a line.

  3. And she was the first to volunteer to help out when Thomas appealed for help. Lord help us. I hope he carries out some rudimentary checks before giving out admin privileges.

  4. Root said

    Well look on the bright side. At least she was self sufficient. Those dudes in the forum who pop up with their new theme they are just about to launch after the forum helpers have fixed it up really get me. :)

  5. Root said

    Oh and apropos the rip off – next thing we know it will probably be on WP dot com :)

  6. milo said

    If she really gets one of the admin positions, i’ll remove all my themes. Period.

  7. […] to have to upload the new version separately, which is messy, but meh. I’m past caring. The templatemonster theme is still there, but they’re apparently not bothered (no reply to my email) so I don’t […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

