happy new year guys!

the hell?

Yes, I’m relying on screenshots now because I don’t trust the links to remain intact. (I think it would be better for all concerned if it didn’t. </hint to Mark>)

I’m going to repeat what I said in my reply: is your email down or something? Because, leaving aside the question of whether or not that suggestion is appropriate, email is pretty much the only appropriate place for it. I don’t care if your volunteers (you know, volunteers? people who handle your support for free because you can’t afford to pay enough staff to do all of it?) are trying your patience, there’s no need to disrespect them in public. It makes everyone look lousy. Including you.

I do not agree with everything timethief says or does on the forums, but even her antagonists would have to concede she works damn hard. If sometimes she starts thinking she’s a moderator, that’s kind of an inevitable consequence of not having any regular moderators on the scene. (Having Mark on call through modlook tags is a bit like leaving the class without a supply teacher, on the basis that if they start misbehaving somebody can go and fetch the headmaster.) She’s helped a lot more people on those forums than I have, or indeed Matt has. (Matt’s limited forum contributions consist primarily of locking threads and being rude to volunteers). OK, maybe gratitude is a bit much to ask, but a modicum of professionalism? For once? Please?

Have you learned nothing from the whole drmike mess about how to treat those who work for you? No? I’m sure there are courses you could go on. Something to think about for the new year.

38 Comments »

  1. drmike said

    I just went around with Mark on the modlook issue having tagged a thread nearly a dozen times. His response, when I finally emailed him, was that I should have tagged it earlier and brought it to his attention.

    Tagging a thread with ‘modlook’ does not work.

    Matt and professionalism can not coexist within the same sentence. Oh, and you forget to mention the times Matt has been a forum troll as well. I seriously think you guys should blow off the forums. It’s not worth the hassle.

    Good luck getting a response. Toni doesn’t care nor respond to complaints.

  2. drmike said

    Oh, and let’s be honest. Do you really think Matt (or Toni) gives a sh*t about how we feel or what we think? Remember, we’re just rats to him.

  3. […] now points out more volunteers on the wp.com community that are being “asked” to leave. This is bloody ridiculous. I, like Wank will take a screenshot as I expect the forum thread to […]

  4. Dennis said

    Can’t believe Timethief is still answering questions. I wonder if she’s seen the thread.

  5. She may have decided to treat it with the contempt it deserves. Or taken it to email, where it should have been in the first place.

  6. drmike said

    Hey wank…

    I just noticed something. You remember that Polaris Ventures dumped that $50 million into Automattic a few weeks ago after they didn’t pick up that $200 million buy out offer?

    Sure is interesting how they don’t list Automattic as one of their stars or even bother to mention it on their news page.

    In fact, there’s only one little mention of them buried within their site. Funny how there’s no mention of wp.com and they (wrongly) assume that it’s the open source program. (Hasn’t it been stated over and over again that automattic != wordpress but specifically wp.com?)

    Oh look. Here’s a page of one of the co-funders. I sure hope someone who wasn’t treated rather poorly recently drops Steve an email and expresses their displeasure about how poorly they were recently treated or how Matt says one thing in public and another in private.

    Hmm, imagine that. ;)

  7. drmike said

    Well Timethief’s back to answering questions I see.

  8. drmike said

    *sigh*

    wank. akismet. thanks.

  9. Matt said

    drmike, please stop complaining that you’ve been caught by Akismet. You haven’t. Your comment was held in moderation because it has more than 4 links, which is in wank’s options under Options > Discussion. Just like you were never banned in Akismet, and the free key given to you still works, even though you’ve been bashing me/Automattic/WordPress for months now and are now suggesting people harass our associates. It’s behaviour unbefitting of someone with a “PhD in Theoritical [sic] Mathematics and an honorary D.Sc. in Theoritical [sic] Physics.”

  10. I’m hoping that someone’s hijacked his computer again, because WOW was that post from Matt Mullenweg ever unprofessional.

    (This is me giving Matt an out. Depending on the response, you may see me dropping a screencap across several forums later this week.)

  11. Well Timethief’s back to answering questions I see.

    The only way they’re ever going to get rid of her is actually blocking her from posting. They’ve already blocked options; he’s marked as ‘inactive’. Oh yeah, and they’ve blocked me. Funny, I don’t remember getting a warning.

    Matt, I’m not ecstatic that you’ve been viewing my moderation queue before I have a chance to get to it. I’ll leave it at that for now.

  12. […] responses I have been banned from the forums and Matt appears to have been snooping around my admin pages in my absence, but never mind! I want all my friends, enemies and hangers-on to head to the lunarpages popularity […]

  13. Kissing Bandit said

    Matt, it’s one thing to defend yourself, it’s quite another to stoop to the level of passing off snide and sarcastic remarks as professional behaviour befitting a CEO.

    You’re not a CEO? I take back what I said then. Your snide and unprofessional behaviour is indeed befitting of a Chief BBQ Taste Tester.

    Dude, I think you need a new title. Possibly one that shows people you’ve actually grown up a little.

    -KB

  14. AJ said

    Matt, that was really sneaky to snoop in TGA’s admin and comment queue. You stoop to new lows daily. Hmm, new resolution for 2008?

  15. drmike said

    For reference, Matt’s not the CEO. Toni is. Matt functions as a Chief Operating Officer or COO. Not sure if that is his official term though. The one stock filing I’ve seen did not list him as such. (I can’t find it right off as Google thinks “Automattic” is mispelled. I seem to remember “Principle Officer” or something similar.)

    I consider Matt’s comments about my physical handicap to be raciest, bigoted, and bordering on being a hatecrime. I would complain to Toni but 1) He doesn’t respond, 2) Has shown that he gives Matt a free reign to do what he pleases, 3) Only believes what Matt’s tells him to believe and 4) Really could care less what we think. I wonder if Matt would also make fun of someone sitting in a wheelchair or if someone was Black. From what I see above, it appears that he would do so.

    I pointed out the Polaris Ventures pages because Matt (and Toni) do not respond to emails sent to them even though they both state that they do so. If Matt wants me not to direct folks elsewhere, maybe he should not give me a reason to.

  16. drmike said

    Excuse me: “…racist…”

  17. Unless you were planning to sue for millions, I very much doubt whether Polaris Ventures or indeed any of their other investment partners give a shit how you or anyone else gets treated by Automattic. Why should they care, as long as Automattic are still making money for them?

    If you have money, money listens. Otherwise, no.

  18. drmike said

    Oh, agreed. You don’t think I’ve talked to my attorney about this already?

  19. I consider Matt’s comments about my physical handicap . . .

    I get the feeling I’ve missed something. I’d ask what you’re talking about, but that’s a little … gauche.

  20. drmike said

    I have an acute case of hypothyroidism (I get to use Firefox today. That’s the only way I was able to spell that) that can not be fully treated and was made worse by 2 strokes and a heart attack day after Christmas, 1999. I have a (on a bad day) 5 inch tremor on the left hand as well as a slight one with the right. It’s to the point that I have blood work 3-4 times a week and get my meds updated twice a month.

    It’s a good day today. Only about an inch with the left when the hand is at rest.

    I also have a physical disability with spelling. I flat out can not spell as there’s something wrong with that portion of my brain.

    Staff is aware of the issue and it’s come up a large number of times in the forums. Do a search for spelling on the wp.com forums as it’s come up many times. (Not just by me.)

  21. Kissing Bandit said

    @drmike: Yes, I know Matt’s not the CEO.

  22. Kissing Bandit said

    Also forgot to mention — I was referring (apparently not well) to the fact that he doesn’t have a real title — at least not one that can be found easily.

    -KB

  23. drmike said

    Ah, sorry. I’m off coffee and Java Monsters again. *grumble*

  24. […] all started with this. It was even predicted that it would come to this by […]

  25. […] Both of them were asked to leave the forum […]

  26. […] we do know is that Matt deleted wank’s response from the thread and then wank, options and timethief were all rendered “inactive” and […]

  27. […] Happy New Year Guys traditional followup post where I report the censoring of the thread in the previous post desaparecidos-wordpresscom-sucks […]

  28. […] um, I don’t think so thanks. Not with the way that wordpress.com treats its forum’s […]

  29. Stevie said

    “wpbloggintips” has mysteriously been deleted by WP.com staff, just like a few other blogs I’ve noticed, which have been deleted within the last few days, if you ask me this whole suppression thing has got to stop.

  30. […] comments (well, that’s not quite true, but I think everyone else has said everything I would say quite eloquently enough so I’ll stay away from the […]

  31. No, Timethief deleted it. She is putting the posts up on her new Tumblr blog.

  32. i like tumblr’s content policy. if i were starting out blogging, that’s where i’d go.

  33. Here’s the blog:

    http://bloggingtips.tumblr.com/

  34. Dave said

    Thanks, rain! Tumblr rocks.

  35. I’m glad that people aren’t letting this put them off blogging but are just finding alternative outlets. That tumblr ToS is the clearest one I think I’ve ever seen on the web.

  36. I’m going with self-hosting, as soon as I can convince TPTB for the group I already administer for that you can host two sites on one Dreamhost account and not have them linked together.

    This is all such a shame.

  37. […] Both of them were asked to leave the forum […]

  38. […] note, I only whip out my Sword of Pedantry when others use theirs first. It’s just too […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

