explanation

Ah, they’re all celebrating being millionaires.

Whose brilliant idea was it to start rolling in the new admin on the day that thousands of randoms would be arriving to check the site out and staff would be off drinking having one of their meetups? Would it be the same person who thought breaking the .org forums on the day 2.0 was released was a good plan?

It kind of scares me that people with millions of dollars to chuck around think this is a safe direction to throw it. Stuff breaks, yeah. But this spectacularly? When will people have bought enough upgrades for this not to be a venue for beta testing anymore?

17 Comments »

  1. timethief said

    By now I’m sure everyone has read http://valleywag.com/347863/with-295-million-automattic-cashes-out-some-insiders
    and http://markjaquith.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/automattic-secures-295-million-b-round/

  2. timethief said

    Then we have this http://ma.tt/2008/01/act-two/ and the new job postings too http://jobs.wordpress.net/category/wordpress-programmer-positions/

  3. timethief said

    I’m wondering why this “WordPress Blogger Position” requires the successful applicants to be a Canadian http://jobs.wordpress.net/2008/01/04/looking-for-mac-bloggers/ Perhaps they already have someone in mind for the position and are writing it to suit that party. Otherwise, I don’t understand what difference would it make where the party is situate. Do you?

  4. Dave said

    Doesn’t that just mean that the company in question is located in Canada?

  5. Dave said

    Oh wait, I missed the extra parenthetical qualification. Yup, they want Canadians.

  6. wordpress jobs aren’t for automattic. they’re just job postings looking for wordpress expertise. presumably canadian companies want canadians for ease of taxes.

  7. Andrea said

    As the token Canadian, yes it’s probably for taxes / exchange / ease of calling on the phone. Any one or all of those, on top of some things just being different – like the iphone initially not working up here.

    (Okay, after re-reading the actual job posting, it’s probably more that last bit.)

  8. Sam Bauers said

    It may not occur to you that the people who work at Automattic are ordinary human beings. I understand your need to create “drama” in your writing, but demonising me and my colleagues by painting us as some sort of snobbish elite, drunk on power and rolling in our “millions” is insulting and vastly inaccurate. If you could step away from your persona for a minute and think about it, you may realise that your tone, sarcasm and hyperbole is potentially damaging to actual people like myself, rather than your imagined caricatures. Your criticism is fine, but any constructive suggestion is buried. Perhaps if you presented a more reasonable argument rather than this sort of sensationalist diatribe your input would be more welcome, however I suspect that sort of outcome may not be what you actually want.

  9. fwiw, you’re not the only canadian in this thread ;)

  10. Hi Sam! Maybe when you’ve been around the WordPress community a little longer your feelings will be less delicate. The tone of debate is usually fairly robust, and those who can’t stand the heat rarely last long in the kitchen. Personally, I don’t especially care for being called a rat, a liar, a troll or a bot, all of which have been directed at myself and my readers by Automattic staff at some stage or another, but I deal with it.

    You want constructive suggestions? Fine, how about ‘stop using wordpress.com as a testing ground’, or ‘set a couple of servers aside for beta testing and ask people if they want to be beta testers’, or ‘please refrain from rolling out code changes if there’s not going to be anyone around to clean up the mess’. The trouble is, I tend to assume these points are so obvious that once I’ve made them (and they’ve been ignored) I don’t bother mentioning them again.

  11. Ben M said

    TGA – I was just going to comment about your ability to elicit such strong reactions from people. After reading Sam’s comment, I went back up and re-read your post. Maybe the tin from the hat I think that baby step by baby step I am putting on is leeching into my brain, but your post didn’t seem that bad to me. And I think that your response is well put. As much as I want to separate the software of .org from the antics of .com, I’m getting more and more anxious to try something else. I’m happy with the software, but it’s hard to justify using it when there is so much excitement going on with .com. Keep up the good work.

  12. your post didn’t seem that bad to me

    It didn’t seem particularly ‘demonising’, ‘insulting’ or ‘sensationalist’ to me either, but everyone has different thresholds of excitement. If you’re used to anodyne techblogs or fanboy witterings I imagine this place would come as a shock to the system. [shrugs]

  13. Kissing Bandit said

    Sam. You need to re-read TGA’s post because you seem to be the one blowing things out of proportion here.

    I saw nothing particularly “demonising”, “insulting”, or “sensationalist” either. Frankly, if you found this post unsettling, I suggest you back away from this blog and put your rose-coloured goggles back on quickly.

    ~ KB

  14. Kissing Bandit said

    Wank – huge favour (please edit the last post please — change the sig to KB. Thanks.)

    -KB

  15. Dave said

    I can never figure out why organizations like WordPress.com don’t realize that the quality and dedication of their dissidents is a direct reflection of their importance as cultural institutions. Matt and Co. should be honored that you lot follow their dealings so closely. The day you start ignoring them, they’ll know they’re screwed.

  16. Stevie said

    The way Autocrattic keep going constantly breaking stuff they won’t learn until they eventually break something serious and thousands of people are seriously affected in someway and they loose precious blog data, unless Autocrattic do back ups regularly.

    And in response to Sam, I beg to differ with Automattic as being “ordinary human beings”, one must question why they never show their appreciation towards volunteers, or they tell people to leave the forums abruptly and rudely, or they silence people by “deactivating” their forum accounts, I don’t believe “ordinary human beings” would be so cunning like that.

    I don’t think Automattic deserve such praise, but if you persist in believing everything is rosy and were just conspiracy theorists you put those rose coloured sun glasses and you leave this blog right now.

  17. drmike said

    I understand your need to create “drama” in your writing, but demonising me and my colleagues by painting us as some sort of snobbish elite, drunk on power and rolling in our “millions” is insulting and vastly inaccurate.

    Maybe so but you folks have a history of lying, insults and the like.

    You may want to learn the whole truth instead of Matt’s truth.

    you may realise that your tone, sarcasm and hyperbole is potentially damaging to actual people like myself

    And you may want to realize that what Matt and crew have done may be the same to us. Would be nice to see them come off their high horses and show just a bit of respect for those they have injured and lied about.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

