burnt orange joy

It doesn’t sound as if the launch of 2.5 proceeded entirely smoothly, what with the usual site breakages and warnings that the ‘official’ release is a development version.

Maybe they should have waited till Tuesday?

I don’t mind the fact that .com has been left to tread water for a few months while the team focused on .org, because it was the other way round for a long time, but long-term (and I know I keep saying this) they’re going to have to learn to juggle a little better. At least this time round it gets to be beta-tested by tech-savvy volunteers rather than Snow Lovers. That was sensible.

I suppose I’m going to have to download 2.5 now so I can tear it to pieces figure out how to turn it pink, and then do a Stylish version for .com should we ever get to share in the burnt orange joy.

Oh ,and here’s your daily dose of penguin wank. Notable for CP’s denial that they ever told Mark to appoint himself an admin on some kid’s blog and shut it down. Enjoy. (No, I don’t think that post is by Mark either. See how there’s no space at the start of each sentence, the way people type when they’re not used to it? and how the blog is still up rather than ‘suspended or archived’? That is the special joy of CP wank, nobody is ever who they say they are.)

38 Comments »

  1. Ray said

    I just upgraded and it went without a hitch. And previous problems I was having with plugins went away. I am content right now :)

  2. Richard said

    There are quite a few issues being reported on the .org forums that make me want to wait till they sort themselves out. I installed it on my localhost and things went bump in the night (tried it three times actually). I’ve reverted my localhost back to 2.3.3.

    2.3.3 is stable and does everything I need it to do. For me, 2.5 will simply be an admin overhaul.

  3. […] Burnt orange joy […]

  4. Steven said

    Jeez, couldn’t Matt wait until most of the bugs and issues are sorted out? :roll:

    I get the feeling 2.5 is a pushed out the door too fast release.

  5. I’m still baffled by wanting to release software during these conferences (the original release date was during SXSWi). I get wanting to have a shiny new version ready for these things, but surely you’d want them wrapped up beforehand, rather than flipping the switch while half the team’s on stage.

  6. I get the feeling 2.5 is a pushed out the door too fast release.

    There were a couple of last minute tickets thrown in there.

    It’s a pity that they haven’t fixed the ongoing issues with the mu forums. New user registering has been broken for month, there’s design bleed yet again from the *.org forums, there’s some idiot insulting everybody every chance that he gets but yet his account is free to post, etc. Lots of fun.

  7. Ray said

    I think that this is done because it’s what the big boys do. Of course, the big boys tend to only put management up on the stage and leave the devs behind to do firefighting and fixes.

  8. Richard said

    @SBK I have to wonder if ma.tt doesn’t dream of being the Steve Jobs of blogging software and as such wants that “big on-stage announcement” that will send all the fanboi’s into uncontrollable orgasms.

    Obviously 2.5 is still in beta regardless of what ma.tt & Co. says. There are too many experiencing the same problems.

    One thing I expect has happened is that as they progressed through beta and RC releases, no one went back with the new releases and applied them to a 2.3.3 install, but simply applied the new release to the previous beta or RC they had on their blog.

  9. timethief said

    Richard blogged about the 3 main problems being reported on the wordpress.org forums here http://opposablethumbz.wordpress.com/2008/03/29/wordpress-25-first-blush/

    (1) Can’t get to admin area or admin area has no formatting (CSS) or simply blank white pages
    (2) Post editor appears but the buttons are frozen (won’t work). The editor buttons don’t show up.
    (3) Can’t upload images/multi-file upload doesn’t work/Gallery thing doesn’t appear in menu bar.

    As for me I’m in no hurry when it comes to upgrading. Even though I have a broken editor that drives me nuts I’ll wait until these kinks and any others are worked out.

  10. options said

    BillG teaches: “Ship early, ship often!”
    XP says: “If it merely builds, just ship it!”

    Eight builds a week

    Livin in a timebox
    Guess you know its rough
    Gotta build every day, babe
    Even half baked stuff

    Build it, ship it
    Build it, ship it

    Ain’t got time for design, babe
    8 builds a week

    Build it every day, babe
    Build it right on time
    One thing I can say, babe
    No time for design

  11. Richard said

    @options, I like that!!!

  12. options said

    Richard, it’s the one of “Songs of the Extremos“.

    (just in case) XP stands for “eXtreme Programming”, nowadays vague dev. school.

    here is a tiny bit on other dev. schools by someone from the Borg cube (MSFTy).

  13. WP Stuff said

    I dared to upgrade

    Well, at least two of my sites I dared to upgrade to WordPress 2.5.
    In overall I think WordPress 2.5 is a better WordPress, you need less plugins to get it to work; like managing tags (I’m not sure why they launched tagging without having the pos…

  14. 10 changesets just within the first 24 hours after release does cause a bit of concern.

  15. Kristin said

    Maybe they should go back to the once a year big release they used to have. Both with 2.3 and 2.5 it seems they just wanted to add ‘cool things’ without testing it properly. It’s really like snow.

  16. Kissing Bandit said

    Frankly, I don’t think anyone outside of The Core Collective knew that WP 2.5 was going to be released on Saturday, what with all the bugs and other problems still being reported via wp-testers and wp-hackers and the open tickets still being reported. Oh, wait, they’ll just push all those open tickets to a later version so it looks like 2.5 was truly ready to ship.

    But, and this is a big but, if Matt had waited until Tuesday, he wouldn’t have been able to make that big announcement on stage so everyone could start throwing their panties at the stage.

    On a slightly different note, the CP’s post has been disappeared.

    -KB

  17. Ray said

    What would be sensible is to have a major release once a year, to give everyone time to work on it, and then roll out bug fixes quarterly. That way, the next major release won’t have little problems being pushed into the next major release +1 and we all have working blogs for the rest of the time.

    As I said before, my upgrade went off without a hitch, but that may have been pure fluke.

  18. timethief said

    @KB
    another weekend = another CP drama. http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=25162&replies=14

  19. 10 changesets just within the first 24 hours after release does cause a bit of concern.

    No matter how many RC’s you release, and no matter how many people use them, there are certain bugs which just aren’t discovered until the official release. It’s probably someone’s maxim. Yeah, there are some rough edges. It always seems like you could use “just another week.” I’ll take my fair share of the blame for 2.5 being development-heavy on the back end. I’m trying to make up for that by doing 2.6/2.5.1 commits and patches nice and early, which is why I’m committing stuff from hotels and airports the day after the release.

    But despite the rough edges, 2.5 is a really rockin’ upgrade, and I definitely recommend you check it out.

  20. And by “on the back end” I mean “towards the end of the development cycle,” to be clear.

  21. Bug-ridden WP releases brought out purely because it was a holiday, conference or some other arbitrary deadline are really nothing new. I would be more shocked if WP produced a major upgrade that didn’t provoke forum meltdown. If you’ve been using it longer than, say, two years, you know to wait for the bugfix release in a week or two before ‘upgrading’ rather than rushing in with all the fansheep. (If you’ve been using WP longer than three years, you’re probably upgrading with SVN anyway ;) )

    In other news, the penguins have now introduced the wonders of the animated .gif to this hallowed host. MySpace here we come! (On no account should you click that link if you are epileptic and/or value your eyesight.)

  22. Mark, I don’t recall any other wp release that had that many issues be raised within 24 hours after release like that. Normally we roll out a wp upgrade to our clients within the first 24-48 hours after it gets released. This is the first time we’re actually holding off for a few more days and, when we do upgrade the few clients that are still on wp, we’ll be upgrading from the trac and not the download page.

    I definitely recommend you check it out.

    Would love to, Mark but since Matt has stated that he doesn’t want me to and has blocked me from supporting my own hosting clients, I’m not able to. Not sure why you forgot about that.

    And don’t forget Matt’s rather distasteful bigoted and racist remarks he made about my physical handicap and Toni’s refusal to respond to that complaint, his and Toni’s refusal to respond to any of my emails or answer any of my questions about what occurred 9 months ago when I was removed as the wp.com moderator, the large number of lies they written about that occurred, the general lack of respect they have for their volunteers, etc.

  23. Kissing Bandit said

    Now, I wasn’t silly enough to think this WP release would be any different from the others and it only took me 10 hours after upgrading to bump my head on an extremely nasty bug which could take some people by surprise and judging by the support forum, so have others.

    the penguins have now introduced the wonders of the animated .gif to this hallowed host.

    Wow, it seems that trends really are cyclical. Leave it to CP’s to bring back the 90’s — I was really starting to miss it.

    On a more serious note, that CP really should have his custom CSS privileges revoked.

    -KB

  24. timethief said

    Those that actually have answers to the questions that bloggers are seeking when they post to the forums have been “inactivated”. The “enhanced wordpress.com workforce” is nowhere to be seen. However, the CP kids are throwing ice balls at one another while engaged in yet another drama and adults aawant a “report as kindergarten” button.

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=25146&replies=82

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=25216&replies=61

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=25217&replies=42

  25. Kissing Bandit said

    I almost wish my forum account wasn’t in some sort of “bad element” limbo just so I could jump in, point my finger, and laugh at all the crap they drag into that place. It’s unreal. Are these kids serious? Where the *bleep* are their parents?

    -KB

  26. Richard said

    I updated my local (MAMP) install of wordpress to 2.5 tonight and it went without a hitch. I beat it to death and had no issues. That said, there is a big difference between a local install and an install on a web host. There is a lot of possibly very bumpy road between a blogger and his host.

    http://opposablethumbz.wordpress.com/2008/04/01/wordpress-25-kicking-the-tires/

  27. Richard said

    I might take the plunge on my main blog later this week or possibly next week. I’ll have to sniff the air and see if I still smell burning flesh.

  28. Ray said

    I spoke too soon – I have hit a wall with uploading pictures. It’s very pretty, but doesn’t work.

  29. Dave said

    Well, fools rush in where angels fear to tread, and I was one of the fools this time. Just couldn’t resist a sniff at the new gallery feature (which I probably won’t even use at my self-hosted blog). But so far no problems, inshallah, except with the Maintenance Mode plugin recommended in the codex, which locked me out until I trashed it. So if/when y’all upgrade, beware of that.

  30. Wolfie said

    I upgraded my localhost install to 2.5 a few days ago and it went without problems. There are a couple of plug-ins that I refuse to do without that are not yet 2.5 friendly, so until they are the main blog stays at 2.3.3.

  31. timethief said

    @options
    Thanks for posting the link to http://www.softwarereality.com/lifecycle/xp/extremers2.jsp :-)

  32. timethief said

    @Wolfie
    Can you tell me please which plugins you are refusing to do without?

  33. Ben M said

    I’m with Wolfie. The admin “upgrade” is not enough for me. One plugin that fails to work for me is Favatars, which I use exclusively for trackbacks. I guess since it doesn’t appear to be under development, I should be looking for something else. Even so, until WP can provide some significant improvement for the visitors to my site, I don’t see the need to leave what works well for me and provides the level of service I need.

  34. Dave said

    O.K., I take it back: I’m now having a problem with untitled text widgets erasing their contents when I edit any of the widgets. Most annoying.

  35. Richard said

    Dave, what I have discovered, is that if you put multiple text widgets into a sidebar, and the open one and add or change something, after clicking the “change” button, you have to click “save changes” before moving on to editing the next widget. You have to click “save changes” after each change you make.

    This is very poor design in my opinion and needs to be changed. My belief is that when you hit the “change” button when the edit widget popup window is open, it should right then and there save your changes, and you should not have to click save changes after each change or edit.

    The widgets area need big-time lovin’.

  36. Kate said

    I upgraded the day before yesterday (had no idea it was such a new upgrade, or I’d have used an earlier version; this is my first upgrade in about three years…). I’m having the same problems as others with uploading images. Doubt I’ll use that feature anyway, but it’d be nice if it worked.

    Another thing I found…strange (and like I said, this is my first upgrade in three years so this could just be a normal WP thing now) is that when I make a post, I have to change ‘Publish Status’ in the dropdown menu to ‘Published’, and then click the button ‘Publish’, or it gives me an error. Isn’t that sort of superfluous, given that clicking ‘Publish’ would imply that I did, in fact, want the post to be published? Odd, and quite confusing.

    Other than that, everything seems to be working OK, so far…

  37. Kate said

    Hmmm, that second paragraph of my last comment only applies sometimes, it seems; other times it’ll publish just through clicking ‘Publish’. Maybe to do with having saved drafts and it thinking I’m editing rather than writing a new post or something, I’m not sure. Either way, very confusing.

  38. Ray said

    I have found (from searching and from experience) that disabling Bad Behaviour allows uploading of images. Not sure why one conflicts with the other, but there you go.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

