unasseptable

I don’t really have time for this (I am meant to be NaNoing) but, yeah. Here we have somebody getting banned from the forums for wanting their personal information removed from someone else’s blog comments, and wondering why staff were willing to do this a year ago yet not anymore.

I suppose we should be grateful that these blowups aren’t as frequent as they used to be. I’m not sure which is worse: leaving RL information up for the world to see or poking around in other people’s comments, but having had my comments messed with in the past I would probably agree with the most recent line that it’s the latter.

I still have no idea why people are never warned before they get banned from the forums. I’m not talking about obvious spammers; I’m talking about people who get censored purely for questioning policy. How long would it take to write a post saying ‘While you are welcome to ask or answer support questions on this forum, if you post about this subject again your account will be blocked and you will no longer be able to receive support from this source?’ I don’t know, a minute, maybe two. Anybody who’s ever watched Supernanny knows that you issue the warning before you dish out the punishment.

I think they’re worried that if they give a warning the person might actually comply, and then they wouldn’t experience the pleasure of wielding the banstick. Power corrupts, and that.

3 Comments »

  1. drmike said

    So what you writing? I have to admit I’ve always wanted to finish one of the stories I started but never had the chance for NaNoWriMo. I know fan fiction isn’t what it’s meant for but just wanted to use it as an excuse.

    My sister got a writeup ages ago.

  2. It’s a Mills and Boon medical romance. Unfortunately a) I found out a few days ago that somebody has already written one with the same plot and b) I am not even at the 20k mark yet. I think there is an all-nighter in my near future.

  3. Mark said

    For what it’s worth the complainant was being selective with the truth. The comments were not permanently removed simply unapproved until the owner was asked – not told – to remove the one issue. What was remaining was not an issue. He then spun it out. As for seeing it coming I can see your point and that sort of approach has been used before but he was also hassling us out of the forum despite numerous detailed responses. I do not think I was unreasonable on this one and it was entirely me who handled it. And yes I know posting here will attract more replies to this reply but you made a point and I wanted to answer it.

    Nano. I’m almost 34k. First time and I’m quite enjoying it. But mine is easy – it’s a shot at a bio. Sounds ego maybe but the reasoning behind it is sound enough.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

