So. Template Contest Guy the Third (who so far does not display the levels of jerkiness and incompetence of his predecessors, for which the gods of theming be thanked) decides it’s time he got the word out about the new competition, so that at least some of those who participated in the last couple of disasters may be tempted to have another go. Obvious thing to do here is ask the devs to mention it. Donncha obliges. Matt says ‘great! more themes! thanks for taking this on’ and rushes to make a post on his blog tells him he needs to change his domain name, so that the competition URL ends up changing for the second time.
Jesus, that’s petty.
I must have missed the dead blog post about that. How did I manage that? I’m pretty good at keeping up with the dead blog, because a) it’s like, dead, so there’s not that much to keep up with and b) it’s in my frickin’ dashboard. So I must be slipping. Because there’s no way you could reproach someone for not reading a page on wordpress.org that’s never been publicised, and for all we know might have been thrown up in thirty seconds as a response to that email. It would be like blaming them for not reading the notorious spam articles.
If you can’t put ‘wordpress’ in the domain name of the wordpress theme competition, where is this lunacy going to end? What about all those people with ‘wordpress’ subdomains? What about me? Am I going to have to rename this site ‘wanky wank wank wank’, or would ‘wordpress™ wank’ be acceptable?
Seriously, though. Does this mean that nobody can register a domain including the letter combination ‘w-o-r-d-p-r-e-s-s’? Not even the developers? And the owners of the trademark can’t approve any applications to use it? Surely, if you own something, it’s yours to dispose of as you see fit?
I’m really struggling to see how a site dedicated to a wordpress theme competition — affiliated with the administrator of themes.wordpress.net, not to mention the almighty Podz — is compromising or diluting the trademark in any way. It links to the official site. It’s not squatting. It’s not making a profit. It’s perfectly clear about its remit.
Talk about lawyers all you like. Talk about the mysterious ‘wordpress foundation’, or ‘wordpress inc’ or whatever pseudo-organisation officially owns the trademark, if you must. It still looks petty. It looks like another case of Matt pulling rank because somebody tried to do something he wasn’t in charge of.
(Anyway, don’t the lawyers have better things to worry about than volunteer projects taking the name of the software in vain? Don’t they have a wordpress.com terms of service to be writing?)