another semantics rant

more html markup sneaking in to function outputs. This stuff drives me insane. If I want all my link categories to be second-level headers (and why on earth would I? on n-t-u they are h3s because on that particular site I consider them less important than post titles) then I will insert the headers myself.

Semantically speaking, of course, they should simply be within an unordered list, with sublists underneath them; this establishes the hierarchy so headers are redundant. I don't do it that way because I'm not a semantics nut, but the wordpressers claim to care about semantics and should at least try to be consistent. Also, how are we meant to put together decent-looking themes and stylesheets when they throw random stuff like this into the mix without telling us?

And don’t say ‘well, you can always use one of the other tags to output your blogroll’, because the blogroll tags and their parameters Make No Sense and are continually breaking for no visible reason. (I was once forced to trawl through the source code in a vain attempt to figure out how they work.) I have strong suspicions that the Links Manager is nothing more or less than a b2 hack gone feral.

Leave a Reply

