snark

I have now established to my own satisfaction that a Creative Commons license is GPL-compatible, and if anyone tries to tell me I can’t insist on people keeping the credit on my theme I will hit them with links, legal jargon, and the usual pretentious stuff about artistic integrity. It looks like I will have to give up the ‘don’t use my stuff for commercial purposes’ condition though, and that makes me sad. If businesses are too cheap to fork out for an MT license they should at least have to pay for a decent WordPress template.

Stupidity surrounding the themes contest so far: randoms claiming ‘all skill levels are welcome’ (thanks for that, hideous and badly-coded layouts are such a valuable contribution to the community), a $40 Starbucks card for the best no-frills template (that’s going to be useful to anyone outside America), and people being bribed to come up with a hokey late-’90s-styles layout that looks like a Real Diary (I am so tempted to take them up on this).

Leave a Reply

