officially a mug

The only reason I started posting to the WP forums after a year’s break was that I needed help with theming and the wiki is inadequate. Of course, when you mention that the wiki is inadequate you get the stock response of ‘add to it yourself’. Yes, and if I knew what I was supposed to be adding I would, but if I were in the position of being able to answer my own questions I would not be bothering with your poxy support system in the first place. I would be getting on with coding the bloody theme, would I not?

Meanwhile they’re bitching on the wp-docs list that they have too many user accounts and any that are inactive after six months should be deleted. Look, you either welcome occasional contributors or you kick them out. Can’t have it both ways.

(We already had this debate a couple of months back, when lurkers on the list were cordially invited to start contributing to the wiki immediately or piss off. I would have unsubscribed back then, were it not for the fact that this was what they wanted.)

So, I am having to learn about conditional statements in PHP because the wiki tells lies. No, I’ll rephrase that. I am having to learn about conditional statements in PHP because the wiki predicated the existence of certain templates which the developers, in their infinite wisdom, had decided not to bother with after all. Now, I don’t think it’s that arcane to want your archives for a single day laid out differently from your archives for an entire year, but apparently this is a rare and strange requirement requiring the use of conditional statements, so yeah.

I still don’t particularly see the need for separate templates at all, but the more you have, the more ‘complete’ your work will be deemed to be, so I’m throwing in everything I can think of. It’s a bit like those essays where you tell the teacher what they want to hear rather than what you actually think. Competitions, I find, are as soul-rotting as customs, but without the rewards. The only decently-sized prize ($150) is getting assigned randomly, which rather depressingly suggests that the lead developer doesn’t believe anyone will come up with a design worthy of winning and has decided to turn the whole thing into a lottery. So somebody who’s done a new stylesheet for an existing theme is just as likely to win $150 as someone who’s gone to the trouble of learning about conditional statements.

Why have I wasted so much time on this stupid theme? I am officially a mug.

Leave a Reply

