things i wish i could do in wordpress without having to mess with phpMyAdmin

  1. Delete multiple items on my blogroll. You know how sometimes you just want to scratch everything and start fresh? I can hide them all (assuming that all links are currently visible, which isn’t actually the case), and I can assign them to the same category, but I can only delete them one at a time. As there are about fifty links (oh, and I’d have to confirm each deletion before it went ahead) it’s off to the database I go. Probably about the fifth time I’ve had to do this on various installs.
  2. Backup. Yeah, I know there’s a plugin. Yeah, I know it’ll be bundled with 2.0. About bloody time. It should have been included in 1.0. You cannot expect people to upgrade their entire install every couple of months (another form of madness which I am sure I’ll have occasion to mention again) without building in a backup facility so they can protect their data beforehand. It’s a basic necessity, and the only reason I can think of for not bothering to provide it is that the developers thought that MT-style text exports or even database dumps would make it easier for people to switch to other software. The ease of exporting from MT certainly hit them where it hurt, back when everyone was freaking out about the licensing; but I still think, by and large, data portability helps retain more users than it allows to escape.

    (I wonder how many people are currently locked into wordpress.com because of the lack of an export facility? It may well be possible to coax posts into your own install by grabbing an RSS feed and importing that — don’t know, not tried it, not about to — but how many .com users just graduating to their own host are going to think of that?)

4 Comments »

  1. Ashwin said

    MY wish list:

    ** I want to have a technorati tag plugin, but unable to add/dont know how to do it.

    ** Wish I can have other images like top 100 blogs, adverts (adsense), no. of hits, etc..ie adding the code thing into the blog.. I still can’t figure out as to how to do..

    ** Uploading is a pain in the ass. I use only imageshack for my blog

    ** Adding my own header image other than the one we get with theme.. or even adding our own WP theme..

    and more..

    If anyone can tell as to how to make or add or work with them.. plz let me know🙂

  2. wank said

    Ah, if you’re on wordpress.com you’re incredibly limited. You can’t add any code to your blog (so counters, adsense, blogshares, and anything along those lines are out of the question), you can’t install any plugins, and your choice of theme is limited to those in the presentation panel (so if you were wanting something red with three columns, forget it).

    If you want to do any customisation at all, and don’t want the complications of paying for hosting and setting up a new wordpress install there, you’re better off with blogspot, at least right now. You still won’t have plugins, but you will have pretty much total control over your template code. And if the day ever comes that wordpress.com can give you the same thing, you’ll almost certainly be able to port your blogger posts over here😉

  3. Anil said

    Just got sent a link to this (admittedly rather old) post. You said “The ease of exporting from MT certainly hit them where it hurt, back when everyone was freaking out about the licensing; but I still think, by and large, data portability helps retain more users than it allows to escape.”

    I can attest — it definitely helps more than it hurts. However, we’re probably the only ones who know that for sure.🙂

  4. Tiara said

    Old post, but just wanted to say that you can put Blogshares code on your blog and it will be noted. Just place the link as a regular link. The link itself has an ID number, so all Blogshares has to do is look for that link and TADA, you’re in.🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

