maybe i should have filed this in trac instead?

Can somebody please explain how ‘Happy Birthday Kate’ and ‘Happy Birthday Chloe’ qualify as WordPress News, important enough to be syndicated to the dashboard of every independent WP installation on the planet? Obviously I have no objection to Kate and Chloe having happy birthdays, and appreciate that it can be pretty rough having a birthday this time of year, what with the potential for birthday/Christmas presentmerging… but I can’t, for the life of me, figure out what they’re doing on Planet WordPress.

I know most people ignore the dashboard anyway, but I am troubled by this inaccuracy. Perhaps 2.0 could change the heading to ‘Other WordPress News And Greetings To Family Members Of Developers’? Quick, quick, there’s still time!

e.t.a.: Alas, my proposed change did not make it in, but I have replaced the dashboard with Angsuman’s replacement and am now content.

The question remains, however, of why the hell nobody can fix up Mr. Little with a wordpress.com blog for any writing he may wish to do on wordpress, and syndicate that instead of his diary?

3 Comments »

  1. […] I’m not the only one that notices this shit […]

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s noticed this frippery polluting my blog and wasting the inward bandwidth to my server.

  3. wank said

    nor are we alone…

    http://comox.textdrive.com/pipermail/wp-hackers/2005-December/003670.html

    Naturally it takes a protest from Kubrick Guy to remedy the situation.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

