whilst i was pottering around the internet…

I dropped into the textpattern forums to see what I could see. And if you scroll down to the bottom you will see what I saw.

(I’ve always thought textpattern had a more subtle touch with the whimsy than wordpress. Already I am sick of my admin saying ‘howdy’ to me. You are a personal publishing platform, not a bloody cowboy. I am going to have to dig around in my RC1 install, see if I can’t change it to something like ‘Welcome, you are logged in as…’ or something normal like that.)

12 Comments »

  1. francey said

    mahaha, thanks.

    although code is more like pottery than poetry imo.

  2. This is a good looking site! I am especially fond of Ye Olde Comment Box bug!

  3. Vc said

    WP is Matt. Matt has no concept of “whimsy”. “Bludgeon” is more like it….

    While I actually love the “Code is Poetry” quote, I’m devastated that it would seem to be from the “mouth of Matt”. That’s because I personally ADORE code and the smoothly flowing unobstructed iteration of same….

    Code is pottery is a truly STELLAR example of ….. hmmmm. What’s the word I want here?

  4. Vc said

    Oh. There’s a way to get rid of the stupid “howdy”. I thought I’d saved the info to a file but can’t now find it (oh like THAT’S a surprise seeing as I have nearly 400k files on the win partition, forgot to count the linux one….)

    I’ll see if I can find the relevant post and post the thread here for you.

  5. Vc said

    Okay. I found it. Open wp-admin/admin-header.php. Around line 320, you should find the following:
    <?php printf(__('Howdy, %s.'), $user_identity) ?>

    Edit as desired.

  6. Vc said

    Oh crap. It won’t let me post code. Poop. Okay, you’ve got the appx. line number, it’s a div with the user-identity stuff in it….

    If you need the file, give me an email to send it to.

  7. wank said

    ah, admin-header.php. thought it would be there. thanks, I’m off to make my blog talk to me sensibly now.

  8. options said

    howdy!😉

  9. Is there a howdy-killing plugin yet? There should be. If it does not exist, I may have overcome my aversion to PHP and write it myself.

  10. options said

    I’m afraid there is no such plugin — alas, hooks are needed and I can’t see them over there.

    however, this string is currently localizable, so one could provide an alternative locale files set (say, en_UK, for instance).

    on the top of that, no need to mess with PHP. (/off: frankly, as much as I adore Fauna, I wouldn’t like to be in the MattT’s shoes right now😉

  11. options said

    wish WP.com had a ‘Comment Preview’ feature — too many errors in the one sentence.

    the very first sentence in the comment above definitely needs editing and translating it to the proper English, will you please fix it😉

  12. Ozh has come up with a howdy-killing plugin; wonder if it also nukes the howdys in the importers?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

