great shiny iceberg

I have tried in vain to explain the whole backup plugin permissions furore without mentioning chmod. Or the ‘wp-content directory’. Or using the phrase ‘world-writable’. ‘World-writable’ is not an elegant phrase, even if it is way more descriptive than ‘777’ or a bunch of ticky boxes.

But I have given up because if you understood that paragraph, you don’t need things explained. Whereas if you switched off when I said ‘chmod’… best stay switched off, actually, and wait for me to start bitching about themes again.

That said, when somebody says ‘Caution: inflammatory post follows’ I have to link to it, otherwise I would be failing in my duty to bring you the very best bitterness and infighting from the wp community.

I mean, I already feel terrible that I didn’t post about last month’s flamewars on whether or not the upgrade instructions should tell people to delete their old files. (Yes. Really.) And that I didn’t devote any space to the deeply pointy-headed ‘do we really need six different types of RSS feed?’ debate. And that I have so far refrained from mentioning the restlessness already in evidence at the theme competition site because it displays no visible signs of planning or organisation. Or the pettiness of ousted Template Contest Guy refusing to link to his successor. Or the people who’ve forked wordpress to make it properly multibloggy and are subject to snide comments from Matt about how long it took.

What you see here is only the tip of the great shiny iceberg that is wordpress wank, for I am willing to bet there is more, much more, that I haven’t even heard about.

2 Comments »

  1. […] vkaryl snipes at Matt on the .org forums as the backup plugin permissions wank rears its inelegant head again. […]

  2. […] Meanwhile, let us celebrate the end of the longrunning backup plugin wank: Matt’s kicked it out of core, not with a bang or indeed a wp-hackers announcement, but with the following whimper: This has been a source of security probs, and is mostly replaced by the XML import/export now. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

