firefighting

It used to be that I could stroll into the .com forums and actually help people.

You can’t edit your theme. This is for security reasons. Please read the FAQ. The only way of exporting entries is through RSS. This thread should be helpful. There are no plugins on wordpress.com. Please read the FAQ. Javascript is not allowed for security reasons. Inline styles are automatically stripped. This is so that no-one can insert malicious code and hack your blog.

OK, so any parrot with a reasonable command of bookmarks can do that. It’s not particularly interesting or challenging, which is why the majority of people leave the forums aside and concentrate on blogging, but somebody has to do it. It does no good to say ‘well, most of these questions are FAQs anyway, if people searched they’d find the answer’ because in the real world people often don’t search. In any case the search form on the forums is cunningly hidden, plus many .com users aren’t native speakers of English and find one-line answers far more comprehensible than lengthy FAQs.

But I go in today, and it’s all Help! my stats are broken! and I can’t get to my dashboard and I can’t create new pages and I can’t delete old pages… and all I can say to these people is send a feedback. And I feel bad about telling these people to send a feedback, because many of them will have done so already, and I cannot promise them they will be helped even if they do.

I’m not going to breeze in to that blog stats thread and go all Pollyanna on them saying ‘relax! they’re working on it! wordpress.com is such a great FREE service, I’m sure it’ll be fixed soon!’. There’s been a few Pollyannas on there lately and I always have to bite my tongue around them. It may be a reasonable assumption to make that the admins working on it, but we don’t know that they are. We have no confirmation that they are. They might be silently fixing security holes in the downloadable version. They might be distributing t-shirts in Austin. They might be sleeping.

If they’re working on it, they can tell us themselves. They have a news blog. They have individual blogs. They have the ability to start a new thread in the forum apologizing for all the recent issues and reassuring people that they’re being fixed.

Sorry, but I really don’t feel like firefighting today.

Leave a Reply

