dashpress

The one semi-interesting thing to emerge from the half-hearted Matt-hacking is that Matt owns dashpress.com, .net and .org, and has for the past three months or so. From the context in which it was first mentioned, Dashpress sounds like some kind of server-hosted to-do list, you know, this sort of thing:

  • Change password
  • Bitch about Six Apart
  • Write own version of common software from the ground up e.g. forum, wiki, stats, to-do list
  • Become bigger than Google

What has this to do with the hacking? Well, if you see this strange new word ‘dashpress’, and Google turns up nothing, banging ‘dashpress.com’ (or .net, or .org) into your browser is the logical next step.
(It wouldn’t have been mine, by the way — I’d have gone subdomain hunting on wp.org. I tend to forget how cheap domains are these days, or think that there must be some limit on how many can be owned by one person.) There’s nothing there now, of course, but if things were under construction there may have been sensitive information left lying around.

(My other theory is that the strange new word was actually the password, but then I have to doubt whether anyone in the world would be that silly.)

4 Comments »

  1. Owen said

    Another thing that might have been easy to figure out: It’s a self-hosted to-do list, the kind about which I was complaining in my original post.

  2. heh. when i saw the name, for some reason i thought it was this. damn this being dislexic

  3. Alan said

    The irony of Owen’s post that you linked, is that he was asking for a premade, mature software package, and Matt tells him “Try this half-baked program I’ve been tinkering with. I mean, it’s not done, BUT…”

  4. Tiara said

    Ha! Thanks for this blog. I’m getting frustrated with the attitude of WP.Com people in the forums and one of your posts (the one about exports) I totally agree with. Looking through the archives now.

    Here’s more wank for your perusal (I’m “educatedeviate” on there, so I too am wanking ;P)

    http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=2161

    I’d contact you directly but I don’t see any contact details (maybe I’m blind). hope you don’t mind the comment.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

