so big business doesn’t trust the forums. quelle surprise

Elliott Back (still pretending Green Marinee is his own design, I see) thinks there’s something sinister about Automattic’s decision to offer paid support to corporate clients. Um, no. Last time we had a ‘paid support is eeeeevil’ wankfest, Automattic was but a twinkle in Matt’s eye and the idea that businesses would ever chose WP over MT was as laughable as the idea that they’d be happy to rely on volunteer forums for support.

(I see Podz is among those on that old thread protesting the evilness of paid support. I guess things change when you’re the one being paid to provide it.)

It’s not like any of the hackers spend any time on the support forums anyway (they’d rather mess with code than interact with lowly users) so Handy’s worries on that point are probably moot. His concerns that Podz won’t have as much time to spend on the forum probably aren’t, but the nature of volunteer projects is such that there will always be others to step up and fill the gap.

I can’t see it hurting ordinary users too much in the long term. I can’t see it helping them, either (time spent fulfilling the individual needs of paying customers is time not spent fixing bugs for .com users, or adding features for the next release) but it doesn’t actively hurt anyone if development slows down or .com stagnates. So the correct response to this initiative seems to me to be profound indifference.

5 Comments »

  1. HandySolo said

    I bet there’s a borked URL in this phrase of yours (first paragraph):

    “had a , Automattic”

  2. podz said

    I was wondering if I’d said before had been about paid support, but I figured there would be – I rattle on about anything and everything so in over two years on the forums I should have most bases covered. Add my blog and I can be grabbed on all counts🙂

    Right now, what I do benefits the forums if anything. Because I move between the two I can help between them. As people start migrating away and asking in the .com forums about that I know where to point them and also useful links. That’s one example.
    It’s also useful in that I can pop into the .org forums at certain points and make little noises about things – like tag cloud plugins for 2.1 I think they all break right now.

    As for time, yes I have had less time to devote to .org but that is for a number of reasons, not just .com / Automattic. I have not the slightest intention of stopping what I do in forums – I really do enjoy it. In the end though there will be less time – but then the time I was giving was immense. My overall contribution to all things WP has actually gone up across the board – but to .org it looks less. I can’t help that – but there are many others who can step into those gaps – and I’m really glad that people like Handy do that.

    And I’m sure you’ll say that you were sure I’d say it, but I see it as a win-win for all users of WP. I can’t see a losing side.

  3. Update: Podz speaks

  4. drmike said

    Podz gets paid? :0

  5. wank said

    Of course Podz gets paid. He’s staff.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

