nice work

The bad news is that three weeks after first announcing XML import/export, Automattic still haven’t bothered coming up with a plugin that would make it usable with the latest stable version of wordpress. The good news is that Aaron Brazell has stepped up to the plate and done it for them.

That’s the nice thing about being a business based on open-source software; if you procrastinate long enough, somebody else will come along and do it for you. For free. There can’t be many arenas where you can contract jobs out to people without anyone expecting you to pay them. No wonder investors find it so attractive.

6 Comments »

  1. Alan said

    At the same time, Widgets was a massive push where everyone had to have support, future present and past, RIGHT NOW. I fail to see how programmable widgets figure more highly than something as integral as an import/export option, but I guess they just want to keep people from abandoning the WordPress.com ship too quickly. I mean, what better way to keep users around than block off their exit?

  2. I have no ill-will toward Automattic. Plus, the code has been in the core for weeks and any developer could have improved upon it. Look, in bugfix mode (where the 2.0.x series is now), there’s not going to be new features aside from what was delivered when the 2.0 branch was launched. That’s just the way it goes. There are going to be bugfixes.

    I took the time to ask the devs about this feature and I did not have to pull teeth to get my answer. You, too, could have asked and would have gotten the same answer.

    Me? I took the code and turned it into a plugin. The devs don’t create plugins. They create core code. It’s up to the user community to create plugins.

    Thanks for the link. Hope it will be useful to you. It was for me. But please don’t badmouth the WordPress team. They are doing a magnificent job creating a bug-free platform. And I guarantee that the next MAJOR release of WordPress WILL have plenty more feautres that will have you drooling and glad that you waited.

  3. wank said

    I took the time to ask the devs about this feature and I did not have to pull teeth to get my answer. You, too, could have asked and would have gotten the same answer.

    Actually, I asked twice. No response whatsoever. But then, I’m not a coder.

    You may want to post a link to your plugin over in that thread. I think others might find it helpful.

    The devs don’t create plugins. They create core code. It’s up to the user community to create plugins.

    *cough* widgets *cough*. Plugin. Created by devs. Of course, import/export doesn’t quite have the same AJAXy glamour, so naturally it’s not going to take priority.

    I agree with you completely that plugins should be left to the community, but this isn’t a plugin so much as essential functionality. Perhaps you weren’t aware that (after months of being nagged for this feature) wp.com enabled import/export last month and, before your plugin, people wishing to actually use it had to install alpha code rather than the latest stable version? Or that Automattic promised to fix this nearly a month ago and didn’t respond to repeated questions about when it could be expected?

    I know it’s free. I know they don’t owe us anything, and any extra features we do get are a bonus. I just think that if you’re going to do something, you should do it properly. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to make this feature usable, but my point is that it shouldn’t have been left up to you in the first place.

  4. Collin said

    However much you* want to cane Automattic, the developers, the users and the theme competition “organisers”, just think where we’d be without WordPress.

    Yep, MySpace or Blogger.

    Even with all the “wank” I’ll take wordpress thanks.

    That said, I agree with the sentiment that I/E should have been a core feature right from the start.

    *you doesn’t not mean Wank directly, it means everyone that wants to bash the wordpress community.

  5. wank said

    MySpace or Blogger? Speak for yourself. I would start up another livejournal or install Textpattern before I went near either of those. Or I might try Expression Engine, or Pivot, or Serendipity. Or Typepad. Or Squarespace. Or…

    There are a lot of blog tools out there other than MySpace and Blogger, and I am not qualified to claim that WordPress is the best or the worst because I haven’t tried them all. But I don’t think WP are kidding themselves they have a monopoly on quality and I don’t think anyone else should either.

  6. Donncha said

    Damn you’re a cynical b*stard Wank🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

