how to make your semiofficial project look like the work of sploggers, part 1

The crew on wp-forums decide to launch their new service for non-sploggers too dim to master the intricacies of Fantastico by means of a newly-registered forum user called Install4free posting a thread about it at the .org support forums. Pointing to a wordpress.com blog with the same classy username.

And then they wonder why the ‘naysayers’ are a wee bit chary of handing over their usernames and passwords to this anonymous newbie, before shouting at them for not being regular readers of wp-forums.

Um, I’m a regular reader of wp-forums, and knowing that you were planning to set up a free installation service would not have made me one whit less suspicious of ‘Install4free’, seeing as how literally anyone can set up a new account on the .org forums and at wp.com, and there was nothing to tie that username to any of you.

The highlight, I think, is the argument that it must be official because it’s on wp.com. Quick poll: raise your hand if you think this site has Matt’s full approval. No? But it’s a wordpress.com subdomain! Matt knows everything that’s going down here and officially sanctions it all!

(Partial approval, yeah, OK — he’s a subscriber and he hasn’t ripped it down yet. Full approval is the day I pack up and leave.)

Anyway, in an email to wp-forums, Christopher Hradil says all the obvious and sensible things about the most egregious failure of common sense I have seen since, ooh, this morning; so rather than repeat them I’ll send you there instead.

7 Comments »

  1. adam said

    my turn to ‘have no words’…

    and on ‘full approval day’, i think you and i will both find a boot in our asses faster than we can ‘pack up’

  2. shorty114 said

    Haha podz is having issues in the forum thread. an entertaining read.

  3. adam said

    speaking of boots…
    are you actively being written out of the tag system?

    http://wordpress.com/tag/free-beer-fundamentalists/

    http://wordpress.com/tag/kicking-baby-squirrels/

  4. GAiL said

    But Wank, you’re ON wordpress.com too!!! hehehehe so that makes you “official” as well huh? LOL

  5. adam said

    the official ghost?

  6. wank said

    Woo, spooky.

    You know, if I gave a shit about tags and thought they had any useful purpose other than sounding trendy, that kind of censorship would really annoy me. It wouldn’t surprise me one iota, but it would annoy me.

  7. drmike said

    Tags help with search engines finding you.🙂

    Gotta admit that I hate Fantastico with a passion. It’s one of the reasons why I don’t run any CPanel boxes. Their installs are always behind, it installs unsecure versions of the projects but doesn’t note this anywhere, no extras, you as a host can’t modify them, etc., etc. I spend most opf my time doing installs for my clients myself.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

