how wordpress democracy works

vkaryl snipes at Matt on the .org forums as the backup plugin permissions wank rears its inelegant head again.

(This was the piece of wank where the support volunteers did not want wp-content left wide open, and the plugin’s original author did not want wp-content left wide open, so naturally it was left wide open, because that is how wordpress democracy works.)

Matt takes advantage of Podz’s absence to call for her head on a plate, which doesn’t generate massive amounts of sympathy from the wp-forums list because, you know, she’s one of them, and spends a hell of a lot more time on the list and on the forums than Matt does. The .org forums have always been a bear pit, and the mods and developers are as rude and dismissive as everyone else; more so, if anything. I have been saying for a very long time that this gives a terrible impression of the community, but apparently it is only an issue when people start saying nasty things about the Great Leader. Sigh.

10 Comments »

  1. Anon said

    If you think every WP.org moderator is a Matt fan, you’d be very very wrong.

    I’d be curious to see your posts and interactions at the support forums. Care to share the username you use there?

  2. miklb said

    I’d hardly accept the statement that the forums give a “terrible impression of the community”, and argue that there’s evidence of the contrary. Everyone can have a bad day. Perhaps you’d like to kick off a campaign to hire full time support people for the forums, and then you can have some kind of leg to stand on when it comes to slagging the mods…

  3. wank said

    If anyone’s slagging mods in this situation, it’s Matt, not me. You have a tough job to do for precious little reward, and your opinions and concerns have never counted for as much with the powers that be as those of the coders (not that the coders get listened to that much, but these things are all relative). But some mods (not naming names) can on occasion be patronising, tactless, and, yes, rude. Things are not as bad as they used to be but you still see the occasional post that makes you step back and go ‘woah’. I’ll round up some examples for you if you link some of those glowing testimonials for me, deal?

    My point was not so much that certain mods are lacking in tact and diplomacy (I think we all know that) as that nobody gets called out for it unless Matt’s the one on the receiving end. I personally didn’t see anything wrong with the content of Vicki’s posts in the thread I linked, and think Matt’s problem with that was twofold: a) one of the other participants in the thread obviously had issues with her casual use of the word ‘bitch’, and b) she was slagging off Matt. The first is a cultural misunderstanding of the kind that will always come up on forums, so b) was obviously the real issue here. As for the way he chose to deal with it… well, I’ll leave that for now.

    Anon — when you share your name, URL, and support credentials with the rest of us, I’ll share my .org forum username (my .com forum username is the same as this one, if you care to check it out.) Until then, I’ll regard you as just another anonytroll.

  4. HandySolo said

    I’m kinda with “anon’s” first sentence on this one… and personally, I agree that things (in this case) could’ve been handled differently.

    Not sure I’m gung-ho about being told I’m “rude and dismissive as everyone else” in the forums, but I’ll concede that not every thread ends up roses. And not every issue is from a moderator.

    And for sure, there are times when the volunteers need to take a break before they snap. And just as for sure, there are folks seeking help who probably shouldn’t be allowed to turn on their monitor😉

    Here’s a nice thread from today: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/83560?replies=8 He liked us!

    I’m a mod on the .org forums. Dunno what support credentials are, but this link is me: http://wordpress.org/support/profile/38527 — I guess you’ll have to click a thread to see “Moderator” under my name. 🙂

    So who’re you on the .org forums?

  5. miklb said

    I will not argue the issue of “mods” occasionally wearing their heart on their sleeve. But I still believe that the sum is greater than the parts. And in the past, yes, those issues were taken off list. I think the problem was that in the past, Podz dealt with such issues, and Matt didn’t think Podz would be around to corral the situation. Perhaps he had a bad day too. But please do not confuse me with a fanboy, or apologist. I’ve disagreed with certain decisions, but like I said, I think the sum is greater than the parts.
    No one likes dirty laundry aired, on an email list or on a blog.
    Off the top of my head, I only have one link to support my “evidence”, and I’ll give that it is more of a general community pat on the back, rather than specific to the forums, but in my mind, the two are one in the same.
    http://www.forbes.com/bow/b2c/review.jhtml?id=7262
    Don’t worry, I don’t need the links to the previous posts where a mod was perceived to be snarky, I’ve seen them myself. Heck, perhaps one or two are me. I’d just like to remind that everyone that participates in the forums are volunteers, and save a few, I’m sure, are doing it out of genuine desire to contribute and give back.

  6. wank said

    So who’re you on the .org forums?

    I’ll give Anon up there another day or two to declare themselves, and when they don’t I’ll drop you a link to my profile. Or I could just import my old LJ entries, I would be super-easy to track from the links in there. I haven’t been active on .org for a very long time, but if I ever need to ask a question I always try to answer some while I’m there. I have a lot of dodgy karma to offset, and I wouldn’t feel comfortable taking the help I’m offered or blogging the things I do without trying to contribute something constructive in return, whether it’s answering a support question or designing a theme.

  7. Andy said

    dodgy karma

    Go on, tell everyone your secret former identity. You are who you are and we love every snarky stone of you.🙂

  8. Alan said

    So I got a Vox account in the interests of research. And I like it a lot. It’s like WordPress.com in that all the themes are hardcoded, except, you know, most of the themes are actually attractive. Also, the social aspect of it is greatly enhanced, and, in general, it does a lot of WP.com and lj do but nicer. If this is the next MySpace, I welcome it.

  9. I still feel that Vox is basically livejournal with kewl rounded corners, and as a livejournaller I don’t really see the necessity of it. Well, yeah, I can see from a marketing perspective it makes a lot of sense, but there’s also part of me that thinks that people who won’t use livejournal because they don’t like its image should just get over themselves.

    Oh yeah, my secret forum identity: http://wordpress.org/support/profile/475. Yes, 475. They’re up to 102232 now. Hey Anon, what’s your number?

  10. Alan said

    I don’t use lj, I harbour no such stigmas. I think I’m moving my blogging to Vox permanently though, for a multitude of reasons (not the least being that my old blog is like a time capsule of post-break up muck), but I’ll still have to keep up to date about all this WordPress stuff. A lot of the sites I make for other people use WordPress, after all.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

