i succumb to the lure of the ul

  • Related Posts .com dashboard cruft was launched, was rubbish, was swiftly rebranded as Tag Surfer, which successfully promises nothing at all but sounds vaguely trendy. I say ‘vaguely’ because while ‘Tag’ is bang-on 2006, ‘Surfer’ sounds more 1997.
  • Khaled got a little pissed off by Shuttle being passed on to Bryan Veloso with instructions to start again from the ground up when the team had already done all the necessary research: ‘Why are we reinventing the wheel, when we’ve already designed the car?’ And by the fact that all that has been implemented so far is… um, lots of blue. (And Kubrick Guy’s login page. Ouch.)

    Whereupon Matt does the usual bewildered ‘why didn’t you contact me privately rather than bitch about me to the world at large?’ routine. There is something ironic about the developer of a medium for bitching about stuff to the world at large using comments to bitch at people in public about their failure to confine their bitching to private, but I cannot quite put my finger on what it is.

  • Linkbacks are eeeeeevil unless they are to the developers, part 2892793. I think perhaps if the wordpress developers had been more sympathetic to theme designers’ desire to be credited I would now be more sympathetic to theirs.

    That said, I always credit WP on free templates (though I do use nofollow, for reasons which are readily guessable to anyone with a knowledge of wordpress history). The ancient forum thread which inspired me to remove the link from my personal journal has vanished, naturally, but it had to do with Root jumping on people for not leaving the credit link on their blogs and Matt then saying credit links were unnecessary and contrary to the GPL. This probably had more to do with Root being Root than anything else; but I did think (quote from old LJ entry, must get around to importing this stuff): ‘fine, if they don’t want any credit I’m not clogging up my sidebar with it anymore.’

    I am surprised that WordPress apparently has no other means of promotion:

    sponsored links

    but then of course advertising and promotion are completely different things.

15 Comments »

  1. Alan said

    I’ve never put a Powered by WordPress link. I never put powered by MT, or powered by Blogger, when I used those services, so I don’t see why WordPress should be any different. It’s a tool I use to make maintaining my blog easier, nothing more. Besides which, none of my readers care about what runs my website anyway, so “Powered by WordPress” would just be an awkward addition to my theme.

  2. wank said

    Most people are looking to fill up their sidebars with as many links as possible, though, aren’t they? Crediting the tool which has saved you the trouble of writing your own or uploading multiple static pages of html is a polite thing to do. It was only a failure of politeness on their side which prompted me to take away the link from one blog, and a failure of integrity which prompted me to take away the googlejuice on the other.

  3. Alan said

    I don’t think politeness has anything to do with it. I choose not to link because I don’t see why I should – it’s opensource after all. Opensource is the freedom to not link to them, and I exercise that freedom. It’s on my about page, and I think I even linked it (on inspection, I didn’t, oh well), that’s the extent of the thanks I’m prepared to give.

  4. adam said

    heh. i link wordpress because i desperately want my friends to stop using mylivebloggerjournaltypespace. so i can stop having dummy accounts there.

    there is such a thing as politeness in spite of, or on top of, license grants. the lack of it, is the reason that so many designers/coders fear the GPL. giving away your work is a pretty big trust on your part. most of the time people don’t live up to that trust.

  5. George said

    “There is something ironic about the developer of a medium for bitching about stuff to the world at large using comments to bitch at people in public about their failure to confine their bitching to private, but I cannot quite put my finger on what it is.”

    Hahaha. I laughed a lot at this.

  6. Andy said

    Ditto George.😀

  7. […] It’s not finished yet, of course; a system where you subscribe to usernames isn’t a great solution when you can have multiple blogs under one username and there isn’t any indication on secondary blogs of what username they’re under. Nor have they integrated the flist with the blogroll yet. And I still don’t know what’s up with the ghastly 1990s terminology.Have you ever felt any desire to surf your friends? It sounds like it might be painful for them. But yeah, another move in an LJ-ward direction which should comfort those who have fled the original. […]

  8. Root said

    Root being Root? Surely not.

  9. AD said

    Wank, you beast!

  10. the best exercise are full body exercises like military press and also swimming.**’

  11. as much as possible i also mantain a good credit record so that i can do business transactions with ease’;’

  12. drmike said

    Best thing I’ve ever read, Isabelle.😉

    It interesting rereading this as I;ve noticed all the credit links have been removed from the plugin directory. No more links back to the plugin’s or developer’s homepages.

    They’ve even removed the home page link from the user profile pages.

    Another case of “Do as I say, not as I do” I guess.

  13. Kissing Bandit said

    I think Akismet is borken. (Broken spelled wrong intentionally…for effect.)

  14. we may always need to do some credit specially if we weant to invest on something ;-`

  15. i do a lot of heavy exercise twice a week and it really helped my health to be on excellent condition :*’

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

