when it’s out of beta

K2 gets added to wordpress.com. Yeah, another big blue header. Can’t you tell from here how thrilled I am at this exciting new innovation?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t K2 supposed to be all about trendy AJAX crap the code? The livesearch? The live comments? The silly little slidey thing at the top of the page? Which of course means it’s fundamentally incompatible with wordpress.com, and so when we told the fanboys on the forum it might get installed ‘when it’s out of beta’, this meant ‘never’. And I’m sure the type of people who squee over K2 are perfectly aware that ‘when it’s out of beta’ is, nowadays, a synonym for ‘never’, so everyone was happy. Well, ok, the fanboys weren’t happy because they were being denied their silly little slidey thing, but at least they knew where they were.

And now they go and add this ‘K2-lite’ travesty which, far as I can see (I just enabled it) is basically your standard widgetised custom-headered wp.com themes with no extra bells and whistles that I can see. I am baffled. Wouldn’t uploading one of the multiple K2-esque stylesheets for Sandbox have been easier than dumbing down the original theme? Is Kubrick Guy really that annoyed about the possibility of losing his default crown that he would have denied permission? Could he even do that, seeing as how it’s GPL and he has no rights?

What with Unsleepable being given the same treatment (theme butchered, existing stylesheet ignored) and still no work on the Sandbox SVN branch, it begins to look as if Sandbox is deliberately being sidelined. Boo.

7 Comments »

  1. scribez said

    K2 my friend came out of beta long time back its currently version 0.91
    getk2.com/download/

  2. Pissed Off Joe said

    Check out this post from Matt Haughey about his gripes with WordPress:

    http://a.wholelottanothing.org/2006/10/08/trying-something-new/

  3. Alan said

    k2 without useful AJAX is just Kubric with square corners. Boo.

  4. adam said

    K2 my friend came out of beta long time back its currently version 0.91
    getk2.com/download/

    apparently version numbering is a fine detail lost on the fanboys.

    and “a long time back” apparently means “a couple weeks after sandbox was released”, which might imply that the kubrick guy really is in that big of a huff about the possibility of being replaced as the default.

    my passionate lobbying bitching and moaning fixed most of the problems with unsleepable, maybe if the fanboys cry about it enough, they’ll get their AJAX.

    that is, if anything more than ‘le grand header bleu!’ (and perhaps the silk icons) actually matters to the fanboys.

  5. timethief said

    I’m risking your wrath and rejection by telling you this truth. I have changed my blogs to the “K2-lite’ travesty “. SHOCK! HORROR!
    As you have said it’s plain, simple, widgetized theme lacking bells and whistles. I like the font because it’s san serif. I like the clean look of the theme. I put my custom headers on it a VOILA! the ugly patch of blue was gone.
    What can I say? I’ve always been a contrary little witch *lol* and this “dumbed down” version fits me nicely.😀

  6. Hello
    I saw that you had posted about moving a blog from MSN Spaces to wordpress, but I am not sure how to do it> Do you think you can help me? My email address is cmolin77@hotmail.com

    Thanks,
    Christina

  7. Are you absolutely sure you’ve got the right person? I’ve never moved a blog from MSN Spaces to wordpress, mainly because I’ve never had an account at MSN Spaces🙂

    We still don’t have an import feature for that service so the suggestion here remains the best I can do, though if you’ve been blogging for more than six months the feed may not include all your posts. So your best bet may be to send a feedback or post to the ‘Ideas’ forum requesting an importer. We can never have too many importers🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

