down the memory hole

Wow, they didn’t waste much time whipping Bryan off the staff page did they? Clearly, adding Lloyd (how many months has it been now? two and a bit? surely he can’t still be hiding from his former Flock overlords?), not to mention Matt 2 and Markifying Podz were lesser priorities. As apparently was adding up how many staff they have. The blurb with the links that lead nowhere says eleven, I counted nine profiles, and one of those is somebody whose appointment was never announced anywhere, so maybe she’s as illusory an employee as Jonas Luster. (Remember Jonas Luster? The guy who got stuck with the firefighting during Spamgate? He stopped even using wordpress after that, as I recall.) Personally I wouldn’t have thought that appointing a woman was something to be ashamed of, but then you never know how the fanboys are going to react to such shocking revelations as ‘women exist, and some of them can even code’.

Oh, and the Automattic site’s been redesigned. That was fast as well. It’s not quite finished yet (see my reference to broken links) and it looks less professional than it used to:

the old about page

the new about page

but presumably this is all part of establishing a coherent brand identity across all of their sites. I expect Akismet to be redone in blue, black and grey with serious overuse of big bold fonts shortly.

7 Comments »

  1. Alan said

    What an awful redesign.😦

  2. Collin said

    Has anybody told Mark that he has a nasty black splodge on his ear in that photo on the “About” Page?😉

  3. mark said

    I should have worn my shiny metal tunnels instead🙂
    http://www.tamba2.org.uk/T2/index.php?s=onetribe

  4. Matt said

    The site is undergoing a live redesign, so it may be broken in parts through the weekend!

    Lloyd and MT do need to be on that page, I’ll bug them again to send in a bio/pic. (Or maybe they have and it got lost in my email.) Bryan’s been working on that redesign and edited the page himself, which may be a little premature since he’s still working with us on contract projects. Maya is a bit shy and didn’t have a blog before she started so there was no place to link.

  5. mayadesai said

    Although the meaning of my first name is “illusion” I assure you that I am a real live person and employee of Automattic. And by the way, I can’t code.

  6. mark said

    “Markifying Podz” – I found a pic to use instead of that horrendous one that is currently there. I also want to re-write the blurb but I’m waiting for a flash of what I hope will be inspiration. So it’s down to me – and as fast on Support as I may be other things just linger….

  7. Lloyd Budd said

    My lack of bio is also “down to me”.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

