blorum

OK, I just saw the new look of the wordpress.com forums.

I know I’m change-averse and I never like anything, but honestly? Honestly? I hate it so much I’m actually quite emotional about it. I hate it so much I can’t even try to be funny.

They’ve turned it into a simulacrum of the news blog. Basically. With a big post at the top and everything else as a comment below. Now I sort of get see people might get blogs confused with forums, especially if there’s a lot of commenting going on, but I have to say this is the first time I have seen a support forum develop an identity crisis and start thinking it’s a blog. Because it’s not a blog. It is a forum.

And I know I’m being precious about this, but honestly? I can’t work in that environment. Commenting on people’s posts rather than answering them. Knowing that volunteers weren’t consulted about the redesign before it went live and that it turned out to have major usability flaws. How many posts does timethief respond to in that forum, and you can’t push the font up a point size or two to make it easier for her? Are the persons responsible for these changes willing to try actually using their shiny new blorum on a daily basis? No, didn’t think so.

So until I can figure out how to substitute an alternative stylesheet, no more .com support for me. I think I’ll see whether I understand anything over at .org these days.

(Oh, and I tested out 2.1. The Links Manager is even more broken than I’d anticipated. Heigh-ho.)

6 Comments »

  1. Collin said

    Engtech posted a quick fix using “that monkey FF extension” (sorry, can’t remember the name right now)for minor reorganising. Perhaps you could modify that to be more what you want.

    I actually don’t mind the new forum layout. There are a couple of things I would have done different, but there’s always gonna be differing opinions isn’t there!

    The list of problems you linked above is only the major useability stuff and I’m sure there’s more that could do with being done.

  2. adam said

    at least i no longer have to worry about my avatar not scaling to small sizes. 0_o
    how did the avatar become so much more important than the post itself? this whole ‘surprise’ method of debuting things is so counter to the idea of open source.

    i’m not sure i’d call the new links manager ‘broken’… it just relies far more on managing wp_list_bookmarks() in the template (vs doing anything complex in the dashboard)

  3. Yes, but by removing the presentation options in the dashboard you’re a) breaking the template tags which rely upon them (ok, so they’re deprecated, and weren’t much used because most designers don’t want people fiddling around with the blogroll presentation, but the codex doesn’t mention the lack of 2.1 functionality so now I have to go edit it and hope the changes stick). And b) you’re taking control away from the user and giving it all to the theme developer, which in these days of every theme having to have user options if it wants to be taken seriously seems a little counter-intuitive. Also c) speaking as a user rather than a themer, long lists of arguments are only marginally less confusing than long lists of parameters, and ticky boxes are much simpler than either.

  4. adam said

    ticky boxes are much simpler than either

    *sigh*. logic like that is what made me take up the linkslist. my inability to make ticky boxes is what kept me from from finishing it. perhaps i should now, since the presentation panel is where those ticky boxes really belong.

  5. Root said

    It sucks. Like a hole in a space suit.

    Spam follows. Please visit my new Habari Themes Project at

    http://code.google.com/p/habarithemes/

    Check it out. Themers welcome.

  6. drmike said

    I gotta admit that I’m not big on it. Especially since we came up with a dozen item list of what was wrong or broken on it within the first 2 hours.😦

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

