head, meet desk. desk, meet head.

Another day, another new theme. Which, judging by the comments, they apparently didn’t bother testing in IE6 before the launch.

Yeah, ok, so I don’t test in IE6 anymore either. I hate IE6. I fully sympathise with those who would like to pretend it doesn’t exist. But I’m not rolling out my designs across a multinational blog platform with over half a million sites and lots and lots and lots and lots of traffic. If I were, common sense would inform me that I needed to check that things worked in IE6, seeing as how it was only officially superseded a few months ago. Unless of course my stats were telling me that none of my visitors were using it anymore, which I somehow doubt is the case.

Or maybe they just thought it would be OK, since before they started messing with it, it apparently worked just fine.

I am starting to wonder whether there’s anything theme designers can do to protect themselves from having their work mutilated by wordpress.com. Slapping sponsor links on your themes apparently only works if you’re Scott. Putting a non-commercial licence on it or specifically asking them not to use it doesn’t seem to help either. Even staying away from the BBH seems not to be an infallible solution anymore. Suggestions?

9 Comments »

  1. Root said

    You would think those guys could manage 2 columns. Or maybe not. I forgot. That is exactly what they can’t manage.

  2. Scott said

    Now that I don’t have sponsors in my themes that puts me in a new category: a sad, sad man.

  3. AJ said

    What does BBH mean?

  4. Dead_ said

    Big Blue Header

  5. adam said

    well, if you write a CC-nc theme (that’s not based on a GPL theme), you could always issue a DMCA takedown notice😛

    the stats i posted a couple months ago have improved a bit, i’m now seeing about 50% of IE users on IE7. but yeah, i don’t have IE6 to test on anymore. i can’t be arsed.

    it baffles me that, if they know they’re going to release a theme, they don’t beta test it on engtech’s theme testing blog fora bit first. but that would require acknowledging that he’s actually providing a useful service to the community.

  6. engtech said

    @adam: I have been privately thanked by Mark for the bug reports I’ve submitted on themes. I don’t expect anything official. I’m just happy they don’t nuked my comments in the wordpress.com/blog posts.

    Supporting all of those themes is *SO* much work. It is amazingly easy to screw up CSS on different web browsers (I just screwed my blog up in IE6 again this week.. haven’t found the problem yet).

    I think if the CSS editor was a free upgrade we wouldn’t complain as much about the problems/frustrations with themes.

    One hack for IE6 is that you can download a standalone version of it here and use both IE6 and IE7 at the same time: http://browsers.evolt.org/download.php?/ie/32bit/standalone/ie6eolas_nt.zip
    (one of my readers dropped that link on this post: http://engtech.wordpress.com/2006/11/17/i-hate-internet-explorer-7-uninstall-guide/ )

  7. milo said

    Did you saw the latest comments on the themeviewer? Looks like some trolls are trolling and spamming.

  8. Ooh, IE6. That will come in handy, if a miracle occurs and I ever get any more designing done.

    One day I will understand why they can’t just throw up a dummy blog with a theme switcher on it so people could preview all the themes at once without having to switch to them . That day has not yet arrived.

  9. Root said

    Well now the serious users are getting down to Fleshy the real bork has come to light. It has got a 1px jog in the header. This is the sort of stuff which drives folk nuts. IMHO it cant be fixed in the CSS because 1 the markup is screwy and 2 the IE 7 conditional is beyond reach in the index. There is a laughable attempt at a hack on the content width but there isnt one where they need it. Not that I would trust them with a hack. If you can’t write CSS then hacks are just going to make it worse. OT Matt of course now retains A DESIGNER for his own blog. He needs it.On his last effort the icky green and yellow job he sidestepped the CSS positioning issue by scrapping the nav entirely. Now look what you all did. You got me started………….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

