diversity

  • Matt opposes RTL support in the default theme on the grounds that it’s not like many Arabic speakers use WP. (Perhaps this is due to lack of RTL support in the default theme. Chicken and egg, anyone?)
  • Matt opposes gettexting the default theme on the grounds of cruelty to theme designers. As a monoglot PHP-averse theme designer, I thank him for his concern, but actually I had no objections to making my stuff l10n-friendly because a) if something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing properly, even if getting the necessary information out of codex and the forum is akin to bleeding a stone and b) I am aware that not everyone is an English-speaking American.
  • Matt sings the praises of diversity

Also, the silence which greets the ‘hey, what about Sandbox?’ comment is deafening. I guess that means I can get started on porting it to Habari.

12 Comments »

  1. Root said

    What is it that folks like about Sandbox so much?

  2. adam said

    wrapping all your theme text in php is only so annoying. it’s more annoying to do it all in english only, and then have someone request it translated.

    and when you’re talking about using pages and pages of PHP from the codex anyway, what’s the difference? if you’re assuming an understanding of PHP, then you should rely on it, not leave it half-assed.

    i thought habari was supposed to have less painful theming? k2 has most of the kewl semantic classes backported from sandbox, along with dual sidebars and sensible class names, now. (at least the WP version, i can’t be arsed to shell out for additional hosting just to try habari).

  3. Dead_ said

    I was under the impression rtl text was very possible with CSS.

  4. Root said

    Half – assed. I like that expression. I have started usaing it myself. We are all Americans now.🙂

  5. What is it that folks like about Sandbox so much?

    Primarily that it is not Kubrick.

    Habari theming might be good when it’s finished, but right now I can’t get anything running on there other than k2.

  6. Root said

    I haven’t followed Varkyl db hacking for themes. To run a new theme I just drop it in the k2 directory. But like everybody else I need to wait for things to develop a bit. But I am working on some Very Cool Stuff.🙂

  7. RoQ said

    Kubruck rocks bitch!!!

  8. I’m afraid I’ve yet to come across Kubruck. Is it a version of Kubrick aimed at the moron community?

  9. timethief said

    *rotflmao* 😀
    I appreciate your sense of humour so much wank.

  10. RoQ said

    OMG U DONT KNOW WAHT IZ KUBRUCK!!!!

  11. Ah, must be the version of Kubrick aimed at thirteen-year-old MySpacers. Same difference.

  12. abelcheung said

    Nice to see somebody else having same concern with wordpress l10n/i18n issues. I have written a half-analysis (and half-rant) about the svn changes. If RTL people are ‘minority’, projects like Arabic WordPress would not exist, with fixing theme and translating as the primary purpose. He may as well say any non-english speakers are minorities. Such discrimination makes me rethink if WordPress is really what I want.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

