so not staff

Yeah, ok, so you’ve saved us having to actually pay someone to take care of the .com forums for the past year and a half, but you’ve been asking too many questions about our nonexistent advertising policy so it’s time you went. Bye now. Don’t let the door slam on your way out.

I especially like ‘the amount of work and time you have put into the forums has been valuable to users’, because it clearly wasn’t valuable to staff. I get the impression that Mark has been offloading a lot of the support emails onto that new guy who’s come over from Textpattern, so maybe he’ll be modding the forums from now on. Or maybe he’ll just grab a feed of the modlook tag and rely on the other mugs to do all the work of tagging dodgy threads and warning people about inappropriate posts. You know the sad thing? They probably will. Habits are hard to break.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m not bothering with the ‘modlook’ tag if there are no actual mods around to look at it. And I’m not telling anyone else they need to be over at wordpress.org. And I’m not telling anyone that ads are not allowed unless they’re Automattic’s own and/or you are a Friend of Matt. Hell, I’m not telling anyone anything other than ‘send a feedback’. Not staff. Not my place.

25 Comments »

  1. sunburntkamel said

    i don’t imagine too many of the people who actually know what modlook is for will be sticking around. i have a new favorite CSS forum to hang out in, which makes it easier to remember that my input is valueless here.

    from here, an official forum for a hierarchic business venture can only go the route of newegg/3dlabs/nvidia/etc where people just show up to see if staff has a solution for their problem, and bitch about the fact that they don’t. volunteer support only works for meshwork projects (as raincoaster so eloquently points elsewhere).

  2. sunburntkamel said

    oh that’s clever, i see that the new comment widget is not only half-assedly table based (if an avatar is tabular, so is the commenter’s name and the post they’re commenting on. if not, then it’s a layout crutch), but it pulls your name/link from your dashboard info, not your profile info.

  3. Tiara said

    HA! Considering Mike has been nothing but rude to me and other people whenever we have support questions on the forums, I’m not very sympathetic.😛

  4. sulz said

    the whole hoo-ha starter way back then when they appointed drmike as moderator without asking him. they would’ve avoid all this if they didn’t start it in the first place.

    of course, if they didn’t appoint him moderator, then they wouldn’t have got all the free labour work…

  5. Root said

    I do not think I can helpfully contribute more on the subject of forum moderatiuon. But OT sbk is right on the money. Half assed tables. It is the end of WP as we know it. And the widgets at Org are no better.

  6. @tiara: like staff have ever been a model of courtesy? Hell, by the standards of the .org forums, drmike is polite. Most of the time. Of course, having dealt with the same number of threads as he has, you’ll understand that sometimes the pressure gets the better of everyone. (Oh wait, you haven’t. Never mind. Now he’s gone, you’re welcome to take over🙂 )

    [stares with disbelief at the table. Where is Bryan Veloso when we need him? Oh, I forgot, he was sacked for being competent.]

  7. drmike said

    Tiara, I would love to see a link to the thread where I was rude to you. 99% sure it’s all in your mind.

  8. drmike said

    Oh wait, here’s one where you questioned how wordpress operated and I made a polite suggestion to you. Here’s another where I made the suggestion to send in a feedback and point out your issues to staff.

    Oh wait. Here’s the biggie. It’s where you feel me asking someone to be polite is unacceptable. So only I have to be polite, huh? No one else has to. And you never answered my question about if I should start lying to people. Maybe you need to learn how to be polite.

  9. Root said

    Yeah, Tiara is obviously paranoid……..its the only explanation…………..

  10. Tiara said

    I got your email, Mike. I would also like to know when I’ve been rude to you, considering that my threads tended to be closed before I had a chance to respond.

  11. Tiara said

    “I seriously think you need to learn the word ‘please’ and to stop lumping all of us under your thought pattern.” All he was doing was politely requesting for a few features.

    “Don’t even bother complaining about it. It’s a waste of time. Just delete it and move on.” When you’re getting it every MINUTE, it’s a bigger waste of time. Isn’t Akismet’s point to stop this from happening?

    For suggesting a basic functionality (having WP.COM pages print properly) I get told to write my own code. WTF.

  12. Tiara said

    Ah bugger, last link got borked.

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=620&page&replies=5

  13. Alan said

    I don’t see rudeness at all in that thread… more “These are your options, you can’t do much outside of this.” I’d say he closed the thread more cause there was nothing more that could be said on the matter, not to be deliberately rude. Even in his final post he was overly cordial. lol

  14. I wouldn’t have posted that link if I were you. It makes you sound like a whiny freeloader still bitter about something somebody said in February 2006. I’m going to be charitable and say I’m sure you’re not that sad. Would you like me to remove it for you?

    I also see you haven’t even bothered posting in the last five months and have only ever posted in nine threads in total. So to be honest I can’t quite see how drmike’s presence or absence on the forums is affecting you one way or another.

  15. Tiara said

    I posted them because Mike asked for proof, and also because he emailed me and accused me of being rude multiple times. So just responding to a request, really🙂

  16. Root said

    If the likes of Tiara had been received more sympathetically they might have stayed to post more than 9 times.🙂

  17. timethief said

    Actually tiara hasn’t left wordpress.com http://educatedeviate.wordpress.com

  18. Not terribly active on the forums though, are they?

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/profile.php?id=52248

    If the likes of Tiara had been received more sympathetically they might have stayed to post more than 9 times

    Since those 9 posts consist almost entirely of moaning about the inadequacies of wordpress.com, we should probably be grateful that they weren’t😉

  19. Tiara said

    Root’s got the right idea😉 I still maintain my WP blog, but the attitude of people on the forums turned me off completely.

    TGA: wtf? Moaning? My posts were mainly suggestions (how is it moaning to point out that things don’t print properly?) or agreeing with other people’s suggestions. I’m not going “OMG WORDPRESS DOESN’T HAVE THIS WAAAAAAAAAA”, I’m going “hey, this might need some work” or “hey, having this would be cool”. Where do you see moaning? Where do you see freeloading?

  20. drmike said

    Tiara, you were rude. If you don’t see that, I’m not going to take the time to explain it to you again as I already did it once in the forums.

  21. You’re not saying ‘hey, having this would be cool’, though. You’re saying ‘why doesn’t WordPress have this already, it’s a basic function and you SHOULD.’ You are complaining that Akismet isn’t catching all your spam. You are kvetching about trackbacks not working properly. What I see is somebody complaining about their own problems and doing nothing to help anyone else with theirs. That’s fine. You’re very wise, and very sensible, not to let yourself be dragged into the thankless work of helping out other people. I’m just not sure why that has to extend itself into attacking people who actually have done useful work on the forums, just because they happened to be a bit offhand with you in February 2006.

    Anyway, keep this up, and you’ll soon have posted more on this comment thread than you have in a year on the forums. I may make you a badge. Such dedication to the cause of trolling has to be worth something.

  22. drmike said

    Tiara, why don’t you step up and be the new forum moderator if you think you can do a better job of it? Get those thousand emails a week from folks demanding help, folks spamming comments throughout your blogs, users expecting you to drop everything and design a theme for you for free, s questions everything you do in the forums, people not understanding that you don’t have backend access, etc.

    Feel free to volunteer and see what I went through.

    I’d give you a week or so.

  23. timethief said

    As wank points out tiara’s issues were all issues that ought to have been directed to staff as they were not truly requests for support. As the volunteers, including myself knew this, in retrospect I believe we were remiss in engaging in any kind of dialog with her (him?) at all.

    IMO the key to giving bloggers like tiara and paradoxion the assistance they need is to immediately direct them to staff rather than engaging in any discussion with them.

  24. drmike said

    I believe we directed Taira a couple of times to feedback and she still took shots at us.

    Not a biggie. I’ve already offered my support elsewhere.

  25. […] you learned nothing from the whole drmike mess about how to treat those who work for you? No? I’m sure there are courses you could go on. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

