0.75 of a BBH

By my fairly arbitrary reckoning, the BBH quotient is nine and a bit (score 1 if your big header is blue, score 0 if it’s not, 0.1 if your header is 10% blue, etc.) This works out at about one in five. I haven’t got stats for themes.wordpress.net because I can’t really be bothered, but I’d imagine it’s not much different.

I’m not bitching about this, seeing as how I’m personally responsible for 0.75 of a BBH. Sorry everyone. Sometimes the lure of conformity gets to be too much.

A surprising number of people seem to have gone down the imageless route. I don’t know whether this is because they’ve been influenced by Scott’s minimalist ethos, or because minimalism is the Next Big Thing, or because it’s difficult and time-consuming to source GPL pictures and icons and therefore easier not to bother.

Trying to get an answer on whether and when the wp.com version will be updated to accommodate these new skins remains akin to extracting haemoglobin from granite, seeing as how feedback is closed so Mark can go on holiday. I suppose feedback was always more of a beta thing anyway, not to mention being buggy, so I wouldn’t be surprised if it never returns. Yay, more traffic for the forums to handle without the benefit of a moderator. (Staff wandering in once a day if they feel like it? Doesn’t count.) If people come in with broken stuff, I don’t know what we’re supposed to tell them now that ‘send a feedback’ is out and the ‘contact support ‘form is down because it happens not to be office hours on the east coast. (This actually inconveniences people on the east coast more than anyone else, unless they’re all blogging on company time. They may be.)

‘Try again in a few weeks’ seems the best option. Or ‘move to another host’.

13 Comments »

  1. Scott said

    May I say I’d find it funny if I inspired a design? After all, my most popular design is the one that lacks design. Heh.

    I’ve done my bit and emailed Andy again about putting 0.9.x on wp.com. I’m sure they will. It’s in their interest — and I know you know what I mean.😉

  2. engtech said

    I was iconless because I misread the rules and thought I couldn’t use anything I hadn’t made myself.

    I think I’m going to update my designs to add GPL icons.

  3. Root said

    I have to say that Scott is a man after my own heart. Give the punters a good set up and let them color it. As soon as you do it in pink they say *I do not like pink* they do not say – oh thats cool I can easily edit the color.🙂

  4. Elvis said

    Hey, lookie. Automattic closed and hid the threads asking where staff was.

  5. hso said

    @ wank

    Which is your theme with the 0.75 BBH?

  6. adam said

    i’d guess it’s 3/5ths of diurnal, and 15% of blue butterfly😛

    i have to admit, i’m terribly curious how my own designs fared. i made a deliberate effort to turn in a BBH, in case the judges were easily swayed, but i don’t think my header wound up being big enough, or blue enough *sigh*

    and of course, the statistic presented makes me wonder how previous competitions compare. i think i still have my share of the themes checked for arenawp, and of course, alex’s results are still live…😈

  7. i’d guess it’s 3/5ths of diurnal, and 15% of blue butterfly

    Correct!

    It would be especially interesting to compare the Alex King entries, as they’re pre-Kubrick.

    I’d be very surprised if you’re not at least placed, because they’re beautiful themes and there’s not really anything else going on to rival them in terms of graphics, which should pick up some votes from the female judges. Not that I’m gender stereotyping or anything. Also, ‘Promised Land’ is in the half of Arpit’s top ten that I agree with. (I understand the universal love for Blueberry — that header is genius, and I’m so grateful for the fact it’s not blue — I just can’t get my head round the colours.)

  8. adam said

    😳 thanks! *stares at feet*

    re: the female judges and graphics – that’s hilarious, i never thought of it that way. my understanding of masculine appeal vs. feminine is purely intuitive. (i file the graphic for promised land under masculine because of the hard-edged contrast).

    i’ll be holding out on a top ten until i can see the rest of the themes. particularly being able to experience diurnal.

    and i’m still terribly confused by fashionable’s screenshot.

  9. Root said

    You have all done a great job on the comp. Good luck to everybody.

  10. adam said

    good luck indeed.
    after browsing the 138 entries for the 1.5 theme competition, i saw about a 22% BBH ratio. definately a jarring experience.

    All the entries for sndbx are strong designs (at least from the screenshots). time hasn’t been kind to many of the 138.

  11. Clearly I need to stop blaming Kubrick for all our BBH woes. Sorry Kubrick. You were merely a follower, rather than an instigator.

    The screenshot for Fashionable looks unfamiliar in a wordpress context but over on blogskins it would fit in just fine. Conversely, if you were to upload an average wordpress theme to blogskins, it would stick out like a blue thumb. I wonder how aware most web 2.0 people are that they’re just another subculture? There are still parts of the internet where sneering at someone’s blog for being ‘table layout’ would not make any sense, or even be read as a sneer.

  12. […] In my interview I said that choosing a color scheme was important and it should appeal to the larger audience. If you look at the spread sheet With the Points the judges gave for each design you’ll notice that the SandPress was award points (if you include runner ups) by almost all the judges. I didn’t try to make anything extraordinary or mind blowing it was just another simple theme with a BBH (Big Blue Header). […]

  13. I was aware of the BH factor in WordPress theme design (yet couldn’t bring myself to exploit it) — but no one told me about the BBH!

    Plus: Minimalism is the new black.

    @thatgirlagain. The default Joomla! 1.0 template is a great big buffet of tables.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

