slow start

via drmike in comments comes news that Automattic have finally realised that support for a million users + whoever has been suckered into paying for their executive service is too much for one person (unless of course they have learned to function without sleep). Also, possibly, that restricting official support to West Coast office hours barely constitutes a service at all as far as large proportions of their community are concerned. I am glad to see that ‘patience and grace’ are required, presumably not so much for coping with customers as for being a dutiful underling and not bitching in public when you get overruled by the benevolent dictator.

I bet Trent is secretly a bit miffed they felt the need to advertise, though.

I am very slightly worried that it is mid-September and they are still ‘gearing up for a similarly exciting 2007’. That’s what I’d call a slow start.

11 Comments »

  1. drmiketemp said

    Actually we’ve wondered on the forums how much sleep Mark gets.

    Haven’t seen Trent around much either.

    Oh, and they’ve blocked my account yet again. You remember how Matt went on record on how they don’t do stuff like that?

    What a lie….

  2. Trent said

    I bet Trent is secretly a bit miffed they felt the need to advertise, though.

    Actually, not at all. I run my own businesses and don’t really have the time required. I help in my spare time like most people in the forums because I want to. There has never been an agenda.

    Haven’t seen Trent around much either.

    Just crazy busy at work😉

  3. There has never been an agenda.

    Apart of course from wanting a ‘moderator’ tag after your name when none of the regulars even knew who you were😉 You know they’re running short of moderators on .org now? You should start posting there again, they’ll probably let you have it this time. Mark’s subscribed to the ‘modlook’ tag feed so no need to worry about us.

  4. Trent said

    But of course! I love that one! I have enough on my plate, but I am sure the community would love for you to offer your help……just don’t send it to the devlist or others might think you have an “agenda”😉

  5. Very wise. Who wants to jostle for position with three or four other mods when you can stay here and have the tag all to yourself?

    If I wanted some sort of official status, I would a) spend more time doing support and b) friend Matt on Facebook, rather than troubling the mailing lists. Hmm, maybe that should be a) friend Matt on Facebook and b) spend more time doing support. Not that it matters either way, since I have zero desire for a little tag after my name and would be rather worried if I did. I mean, I’d have to undergo gender reassignment for a start.

  6. on really slow start and fast finish

    it makes me uncomfortable to comment it since, no doubts, Trent can perfectly speak for himself.
    however, at the same time, I honestly feel like there’s an unfairness because all those snipes shot at him (and there’s mea culpa too) are really looki…

  7. Root said

    Trent are you applying for the Happiness thing then ? A lot of folks would be interested in knowing.:)

  8. Trent said

    I am not applying for the position. Automattic will hire someone who has the ability to work full-time and is a great person, you can be sure of that. I don’t have the time necessary to even think about applying as I am already running my own show (outside of the internet). It is that reason that I am not applying, but wish the successful applicant all the success in their new position!

  9. Root said

    Well thanks for that. You would have done a fine job – but its great to have something a bit more er interesting🙂

  10. […] a moderator. Not a key master. One dormant blog, no forum posts prior to January 3. Looks like the happiness engineer finally took charge. With the usual fanfare and openness, […]

  11. brbrl said


    however, at the same time, I honestly feel like there’s an unfairness because all those snipes shot at him (and there’s mea culpa too) are really looki…

    I agree with RAWW, I see Trent posting polite messages and everybody shooting him down.

    Not to say I don’t agree with the rest of your posts Wank😛

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

