immense brokenness

We are having a day of immense brokenness, including but by no means limited to such luminaries as Lorelle and engtech being informed that their accounts are suspended and being unable to log in.

My assumption is that a shitload of 2.3 code is getting rolled in, but it would be really nice if somebody had had the courtesy to post on the news blog (and the forums, and the status blog we ought to have but don’t) something to the effect of ‘hey guys, we’re doing a code push over the weekend so we can bring you some kewl new features, things may be broken for a bit.’ It doesn’t take long. It reassures people that it’s not just them. It makes sure they don’t try to do anything important while the system is in flux. And it demonstrates consideration for your users. I hope the applicants for the support job are watching and learning.

15 Comments »

  1. shep said

    so wait, are they blaming people for having ads on their site as the reason for their accounts being suspended when it’s wp.com’s bug that is causing it?

    I know lorelle doesn’t have ads on her blog, she just has the enormous, self-righteous signature at the end of every post.

  2. They did try that, but accusing Lorelle of breaking the ToS is too ridiculous even for them, so now they’re saying she’s lying about being suspended🙄

  3. engtechtmp said

    My guess is in the ‘a bug was introduced’ category.

    The initial email back was that it doesn’t look like my account is suspended on their end.

    It definitely gets your heart beating when you login and see that account suspended screen.

    I’ll tell you one thing though, the minute it’s restored I’m setting up a second account with admin access🙂

  4. timethief said

    Actually 2 of Lorelle’s blogs have been suspended and because she was unable to log-in to the forum she contacted me on her way to the airport. She also sent in an email to Matt and the staff prior to contacting me. And she requested that I make a reassuring post to the forum. Unfortunately, the post was not well received.

    @wank
    I would like to thank you for posting the link to the forum thread in question. Perhaps I was naive to assume that drmike actually got the message loud and clear and had f…. off to take care of his business following his demotion. I had no idea that he was creeping about and I was astonished to discover that he had the audacity to repeatedly criticize me behind my back, when I was only trying to help and, when he knew I had no idea the email address was not to be given out. In fact, we forum volunteers got the email address from him.

  5. drmiketemp said

    Timethief, I told you many times over when you gave that support email address out not to do so. Many others told you the same over and over again. This is once again where you were doing the wrong thing in the forums. yes, I moderated you about it. So did staff. And yet, you ignored it time after time.

    As to getting the email address from me, did you even read the disclaimer I put in everytime I gave it out? It was only to be used in emergencies and when somethign was actually broken. It was not for causal use. How many times did I say that?

    Helping is not telling nearly every single person in the forums to send in an email or feedback when you don’t know the answer. There are other folks in the forums and nine times out of ten, the question can be answered. As you;ve been told by others, if you don’t know the answer, then don’t post. It’s that simple. All you do by posting “I don’t know. Send in a feedback.” is cause confusion and wastes the time of others.

    And, yes, I saw that thread with those digs towards me (I notice that you don’t mention your own insults towards me. I guess you’re free to critize but others aren’t allowed to do so.) about wasting someone’s time. I could have said something about those half dozen threads where you told posters to send in feedback when their question could have been answered in the forums. Maybe you yourself need to think about how you’re helping folks. I see to remember me myself being criticized for answering every thread a few times but yet i find it most interesting that you do the same. At least I try to give an answer though.

    As to me getting the answer “loud and clear”, maybe you should realize that you don’t know the half of what is going on around here.

    Oh and as to cheeping, you do know I’m seeing you on my own blog nearly every day doing a search for ‘timethief’, right? If you;re going to criticize others for their ‘creeping’, may I siggest you come clean yourself? Or shoudl I ask thistimethisspace or whatever your other handle is.

    Timethief, get a life. (Yes, I’ll throw back your own quote back at you.) You need to stop telling these half truths and clean up your own act.

  6. drmiketemp said

    Excuse the typos.

  7. drmiketemp said

    Damn, all that and I forgot what I was going to say. 🙂

    This isn’t the first time that major upgrades have occured without notice. It’s not the first time that they’ve done it on the weekend. And it’s not the first time they’ve not told anyone ahead of time.

    In fact I only remember one time where we got a notice that something had been upgraded and that was Mark I believe posting about TinyMCE getting an upgrade.

    And why the heck do they keep doing it on the weekend? I don’t know about you guys but my traffic always went up on the weekends, both for my blogs and for my own servers. Maybe folks post less on the weekends but I don’t see traffic going down.

  8. […] 16th, 2007 September 16 has been described as a day of immense brokenness at WordPress.com. There certainly seem to be more problems than usual. That several of them are […]

  9. You know, absurd as it may sound, some of us TEST new software revisions before rolling them out.

  10. ttancm said

    Testing is for pansies, full speed ahead, take no prisoners!

    Or something like that…😛

  11. absurd as it may sound, some of us TEST new software revisions before rolling them out

    Absurd as it is, wordpress.com is the testbed for wordpress.org releases. Which was fair enough when this place was beta and only had a handful of users, but has been mildly insane for a while now.

  12. Andrea said

    Yeah, they seem to roll stuff into .com even before they roll it into MU. Where at least the community will test it.:-/ (and frustrate our own users)

  13. Root said

    Matt has always had this supreme believe in his own ability – and the conceit to believe that somehow – as a developer – he is entitled to borkage during *live development*
    regardless of the inconvenience that cause. Now although the end users do not pay com is a commercial service. And the downtime would put any web host to shame.
    And SuperMatt thinks a chatty sticky inviting users to forward their urls will do it. What about the hundreds of thousands of users who could not find their way back to the forum anyway ?🙂
    @drmike: You need to take your flamewar back to your own blog.

  14. drmiketemp said

    @root, I don’t see where you told timethief up there the same. Please link to it.

  15. Timethief has had her say, you’ve had yours, Root has had his. If you want to continue sniping at each other, by all means do so, but I’d appreciate it if you did it elsewhere because I hate having to lock threads down. Like I said the other day, if I wanted to be a moderator I’d friend Matt on facebook and spend more time on the forums😉

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

