you didn’t expect not to be punished, did you?

Following the phoning-home debacle, Matt, unsurprisingly, wants to kill wp-hackers. Or, at any rate, cut off its balls and allow access only to his friends ‘those who have made substantive contributions to the codebase’.

Everyone immediately starts debating whether the list should become a forum / become a newsgroup / be split up into separate lists / have moderators, as if it actually mattered what they thought. Bless. Once, the coders were more important than the docs writers and the support volunteers and the themers and the lowly bloggers who just use the thing, but now they’re just nobodies like the rest of us. I hope whoever ran off and tattled to Slashdot feels suitably contrite, now the toys are going to be taken away.

29 Comments »

  1. Stevie said

    Oh I see, and for somebody who has only submitted around five or six bug reports I am not good enough to join in their wp-hackers discussion, a proper forum software would be better, but I think Matt knows he cannot moderate what gets said on wp-hackers so thats why he wants to cut off access to those who are not sucking up to him. Looks like time for me to join Habari then.

  2. Picture Improvement said

    I found that the quality of that list was improved immeasurably by the simple expedient of routing all messages from “Computer Guru” directly to the trash.🙂

  3. LOLWordPress said

    Haha, oh man, WordPress and Automattic have become even more of a joke than when I last used WP about a year ago. I always knew something stank about Automattic (Mullenweg especially). From the devs inserting themselves into the blogroll by default, to the devs’ blogs’ posts showing up on the dashboard, to Matt whoring himself to Internet Superstars™ like Michael “Web 2.0 Jesus” Arrington.

    WP used to be a pretty decent piece of software. Not a good one, but a decent one. The community is what made it usable, and Matt’s doing all he can to alienate the core fans and contributors. What a moron.

    The fact that he nonchalantly tells people that disagree with him to take the code and go play with it themselves is hilarious. WP is a nightmare of ugly hacks and Swiss cheese security. Even the Habari guys agreed on this very early on when the were considering the code base for Habari. “Hey, Matt, your shit sucks. Keep it. We’re making our own.”

    Habari isn’t exactly usable yet, but in the meantime, everyone should check out Textpattern. It’s cleanly coded and is only 1/3 the code of WP, yet somehow has all the features WP should have, but doesn’t, out-of-the-box. The community’s a lot smaller but it’s filled with knowledgeable chaps. Textpattern has a learning curve for people used to WP, but learning how to use it is worth it. It’s certainly a much better option that continuing to support a sinking ship like WordPress.

  4. drmiketemp said

    Oh, I’ve got a comeback….

  5. Stevie said

    I kind of agree with LOLWordPress, WP is beginning to go into a ‘fading’ phase, every day it is loosing loyal users because the software has not been improved drastically to accommodate what people want, sure it is popular, but it still really is software considered in a beta form, but I can see Matts integrity falling by the minute, because I know Matt doesn’t really care about end user experience, just as long as he has something built for himself, in addition the alienating and patronizing attitude of Automattic is scaring off newbies, I don’t think he cares otherwise.

    Matts latest actions just prove how alienating he can be to the loyal userbase (community) and the occasional bug reporters and developers who do their bit, he has somewhat (and has) taken control over development and if your not happy with that, you can buzz off and create a fork of the software says Mullenweg, yeah right, I haven’t seen one good fork off WP since it began development.

    WP is good software, it is neat and does what it is supposed to do and more, but it can be better, and if Matt is brushing off those who offer to help (regardless experience) with the application then he is only hurting himself and the software, because people are going to see he is not interested in their help and they will go elsewhere, to contribute. But then again I don’t think Matt cares either, because it is not about the community anymore, its about business and profit making through WP.com.

    And with all this I believe the tables are turning, or at least I can see, because I now know that there are other blogging platforms (complete, stable, pretty, professional) out there that will do the job and maybe even better, I even now look at Movable type 4 and consider installing it, MT has improved with this release and I believe the blogging platform deserves another chance, regardless that it uses Perl programming. Also take a look at Textpattern and Serendipity for alternatives.

  6. Alan said

    It’s pretty obvious at this point that Automattic’s focus is WP.com, and the actual software is an afterthought, one of those annoying deadlines they have to meet to keep the boss (in this case, community) happy. Unfortunately, it’s getting pretty obvious to the community that he doesn’t care what they think, he just wants to slap in a new feature, regardless of usability or safety, each release and hope it placates them. He should just kill off wp.org and be done with it. lol

  7. ttancm said

    Slight side note about the whole “phoning home” thing:

    Dreamhost installs the two plugins which disable the phone home features by default in their quick installs of WP.🙂

    -The new version of WordPress has an automatic functionality to send information to WordPress servers concerning your software/plugin versions. Since some users have objected to the idea of this data being sent, I’ve automatically included two plugins: one that allows you disable WordPress update notification, and one that allows you to disable plugin update notification.

  8. Kissing Bandit said

    Wow, that’s a way to keep it transparent, open, and constructive — just abolish all the naysayers. I wonder if he’s going to bump Mark Jacquith, too b/c I’ve seen him dissent from Matt’s will a few times on that list.

    Frankly, after observing Matt’s actions over the past year, I’m inclined to agree with the others who’ve said that WP (software) is now considered second-class to WP.com and other Automattic projects. Community be damned.

    By the way, wank, I certainly hope you do back up this blog because Matt may just wake up on the wrong side one day and decide to “accidentally” delete this blog for some bogus ToS violation, then rewrite the ToS and FAQ to cover it up.

    -KB

  9. Greg said

    On my blog I finally said something that generated a response from THE Matt Mullenweg, I feel almost blessed…

    http://www.scamcity.co.uk/journal/2007/09/25/wordpress-23-thoughts/
    “So WordPress 2.3 has just been released, and like I lot of people I
    uploaded and upgraded but then I reverted…”

    Scam City also says in the comments:
    “I dunno, I am a bit disillusioned with the running of WordPress and how
    the emphasis is on the .com while the .org is left to waste most of the
    time.”

    Which I think is pretty demonstrably not true. Anyone want to run stats
    on the SVN repo or Trac?

    I await said demonstration with baited breath

  10. Greg said

    dang, screwed that one up, anyhoo, it was in the original wp-hackers list 2.3 response post by Matt

  11. Stevie said

    Yep KB, I’d suggest wank back up her blog just in case Matt had an “accident” and delete the blog, I am just so surprised Matt actually would host content that actually bags the shit out of him, judging Matts actions with ToS changing, wank is in danger of loosing her blog, she is playing a dangerous game on wp.com, so wank should back up the blog on an other provider.

    Matt by demonstrating that he can shut off a community shows that he is undiplomatic and ignorant, I saw that page on wp-hackers, which is just another lame excuse to get rid of wp-hackers so only he can dictate the project, it was never about other “nobodies” taking control, like he seems to whine about.

    I might not be a pro with software development or planning but I certainly beleive that an open source project should mean that everybody has a say to yay or nay and that they should be able to have their bit, but with Matt hogging the development and dictating the project, he will eventually destroy WP in the end, mark my words.

  12. hari said

    Is there any easy way to convert from WordPress to other blogging tools?

    Most converters seem to be from the other tool to WordPress and not the other way round.

    i am seriously considering ditching wordpress, but I’m stuck with it at present and I agree with all your views.

    Any idea if there is a converter to b2evolution? Anybody?

  13. Root said

    Habari has a very good WP importer already.🙂

  14. hari said

    Root, unfortunately Habari does not look like it works with PHP 4 so that’s out as PHP 5.1+ is still not a standard feature on most hosts. Also it seems too early in the development stage now to be usable.

    I’m actually looking for a WP to b2evolution exporter…🙂

  15. shep said

    serendipity has a wp importer. not used it yet though

  16. * Textpattern has a WP importer, though I’ve had problems with it timing out after about 200 posts. I’ve always kept away from b2evo as I don’t like their implementation of multiblogs. The trouble is there are so many versions of the WP database tables floating around these days that an import script which works with one release is not going to work with earlier or later ones. And MT’s export format is still more widely used than WXR (which is both relatively new and undocumented) so you may end up having to go that route.

    * people, don’t fret! I make backups all the time. And you should too, regardless of the level of trust you have in your host.

    * Matt’s ‘look at all our commits!’ argument mistakes activity for focus. I don’t doubt that development is faster now. So it should be. People are getting paid for working on the software, rather than fitting it in around their day jobs. But the focus of development is on wordpress.com. I find it hard to think of anything that’s been added to wordpress.org that hasn’t been motivated by the needs of .com. Plugin update isn’t just to harvest URLs, it’s to get better stats on which plugins are most popular and work out what functionality people are missing here. Stuff like the RTE and word counts would be considered plugin material if .com didn’t exist. Themes need to be GPL because it makes it easier for Automattic to tear them to pieces for use here. They wanted tags on wordpress.com to funnel even more traffic to global tags pages, so wordpress.org gets tags too. I could go on.

    Also, the .org site itself doesn’t receive a quarter of the attention that .com does; staff show up on the .org forums even less frequently than they do ours, making it very difficult for newbies to get support. Codex is in such a state that we’re told to head to third-party blogs if we want to know how to implement tags in our themes. The community is abandoning Codex and the forums because the developers left those places long ago. There is more to .org than svn commits, and it is only too typical that Matt fails to recognise this.

  17. Matt may not be the best at public relations, but I SERIOUSLY doubt he’d be stupid enough to delete this blog. If anything, I can see that generating more controversy than the plugin thing.

    Even Google tolerates quite a few anti-Google Blogger blogs, after all.

  18. Root said

    Matt said apropos wp-hackers that users needed to frequent a number of places eg trac to keep up. I don’t disagree with that. All the info to do anything isnt going to be in one place. So you need to patrol your terrain. And in that context WW is right on the money. Org feels abandoned.

  19. Kissing Bandit said

    @wank – in case you didn’t notice a comment on the “third party blog” linked to for adding tag support in themes, Matt actually asked the author to re-publish his article in the Codex when his traffic from the write up died down. How sweet.

    After the traffic for an article dies down I would think about giving it back to the community by integrating it with the Codex.

    Did you catch that? Apparently, posting instructions on your own blog does not give enough back to the community, you must submit your hard work to the Codex if you want to do that. Instead of guilting the man into putting his content in the Codex, Matt should proactively had people documenting the new functions as they were doing the updates.

    On another note, a wiki is not the easiest thing to wrap one’s head around. If Matt wants more contributors to that thing, he needs to make it more “non-tech” friendly because the average person who may have something valuable to contribute is not going to wade through that many pages of instructions just to write a one or two paragraph explanation about some internal WP function.

    Then again, I’m just thinking out loud.

    -KB

  20. Kissing Bandit said

    @Robert: Your comment made me giggle out loud.

    Matt may not be the best at public relations, but I SERIOUSLY doubt he’d be stupid enough to delete this blog.

    Yes, it would be a foolish decision to make.

    But, have you forgotten that this is the same Matt who allowed his employee to hijack someone’s WP.com username/blog, then basically called him a stalker in public for raising the issue and getting mad when no one would fix it, then ended it with a surreptitious FAQ/ToS change and said “too bad, so sad sucker.”

    This is the same Matt who wouldn’t remove the Browse Happy logo from the WP admin and had an affiliate button up on the site that he conveniently forgot about until someone raised the issue. Then said, “oops, I forgot about it. It didn’t make much money anyway. Oh, and the money went back to WordPress.org development.”

    The same Matt who added core functions that sends the blog’s URL along with all the plugins/versions running on said URL (i.e. creating a hackers wet dream should the information be compromised), then when he’s called out about it, adds a privacy policy overnight, calls us all paranoid and tells us to fork ourselves.

    Quite frankly, I wouldn’t put it past him to delete the blog, apologize, say one of the Automattic crew did it by mistake and they don’t have a back up, and then come up with some story about it providing illegal MP3 downloads and therefore breaking the ToS to cover it all up. And when wank inevitably complains about the issue, he’ll just finish up by telling her to go fork herself.

    Call me a pessimist if you want, I’m just looking at it from all angles.

    -KB

  21. I would think about giving it back to the community by integrating it with the Codex.

    So now Matt thinks we should all release our blog content as GPL? It might be a good thing if I did get kicked off wordpress.com, if that’s the way his obsession is heading.

  22. drmiketemp said

    had an affiliate button up on the site that he conveniently forgot about until someone raised the issue.

    Actually he forgot about it again. That last interview he gave, he said that he would never put adverts on the back end and though the idea of doing so was “stupid.”

    Too bad he forgot that is exactly what he did.

    I’d give a link to the interview but that would probably get me caught by Akismet yet again.

  23. Root said

    Kissing bandit: If you are a blogger I wish you would link your url. You sound feisty. A lot of folk might want to visit your blog.🙂

  24. hari said

    I used TextPattern, but I don’t like it all that much. You also cannot have multiple themes on it because it’s stored in a database.😛

    I like b2evolution. Really like their developers attitude as well.

    I once reviewed b2evolution on my blog and the developers actually commented on that review and agreed to take my suggestions into account.

    If I move to any blogging tool, b2evo will be my choice. If I can get a good importer for it!!

  25. Kissing Bandit said

    @Root: in a previous life, I would have linked to my blog. Maybe if I revive it, I’ll start linking to it again. By the way, feisty is one of my favorite words.😉

    -KB

  26. Stevie said

    Hari, I like b2evolution too, but it is hell messy, very unorganized file structure and lots of weird files that I don’t know about and where they go, I certainly hope they fix this with a later release, this is why I like WP since it is divided into wp-includes, wp-content and wp-admin file directories, but yeah I agree they are more friendlier and take suggestions into account than WP does.

  27. Patrick said

    MT4 has a WXR importer, apparently, but no word on how well it works.

  28. hari said

    b2evolution 2.0 alpha is very nice and the lead developer is extremely friendly as well.

    He actually helped me fix problems when I converted from WP to b2evo so I suggest that those who are disgruntled with WP use my importer and switch over.

    You can also preserve permalinks since b2evolution is incorporating WP-like permalinks as well in 2.0.

  29. Stevie said

    It seems Andy has written something about WP-hackers, I think he supports of moderation of comments being made, I.E abolishing WP hackers I believe.

    http://andy.wordpress.com/2007/10/03/wp-hackers/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

