stupid little pseudobullets

Because it’s not even worth trying to post comments on the news blog these days:

black letterhead

The screenshot makes me want to cry. And when I find the demo, I discover it is yet another Kubrick mod that doesn’t even bother changing the stupid little pseudobullets. I thought we got past this phase two years ago, and everyone had realised by now that spending five minutes doing find/replace on hex codes does not constitute good design?

Meanwhile, if you want to use any of the Sandbox style contest entries (you know, like new skins? from this summer?), you need to pay for the CSS upgrade, download the skin yourself, and backport it to 0.61, because in spite of their unimpeachable GPLness none of them meet Automattic’s high standards. (Well, Blueberry made it to SVN. So near, so far.)

12 Comments »

  1. engtech said

    My forays into tumblr and blogspot have really shown me the value of having some professional CSS only templates followed up with dead simple colour selectors.

    Of course, they also give you the free CSS editor.

  2. Root said

    That is what I have been advocating for years. As it is now they keep trying to reinvent the wheel. Or at least to make a round wheel. On the Redoable site the author apologises for the OMFG – borked footer in the theme. It is one of my pet hates.🙂

  3. They won’t give us colour selectors because they don’t trust us to choose colour schemes that don’t involve pink. The last thing they want is to attract teenage girls here😉

  4. Ray said

    They won’t give us colour selectors because they don’t trust us to choose colour schemes that don’t involve pink. The last thing they want is to attract teenage girls here

    Unless said girls can pretend they’re over 13😉

  5. timethief said

    @engtech and root
    What you say about a selection of professional css templates and colour selectors makes perfect sense to me.

    Why oh why have the developers not gone this direction?

    @wank
    50% of those gazillions of Club Penguin bloggers at wp.com will grow into pink, without doubt.😉

  6. Why oh why have the developers not gone this direction?

    1) they’re too cheap to pay anyone.

    2) they want the majority of wordpress.com blogs to be generic BBH jobs because this attracts more of their Ideal User (a white male American who likes to blog about cars and Apple) and deters girls who wish to blog about cats. This is primarily because ads connected to cars and Apple pay better than ads connected to cats.

    Also, they don’t like girls. Or the colour pink.

  7. Stevie said

    I just hate every WP.com blog looks the same, they have made sure people don’t have much customization in the way of CSS unless you pay. I also love how they don’t have any CSS editors to change colours for you or fonts, like Blogger provides an easy way to edit colours. And man I hate Kubrick so much I often delete the theme when I make new installations of WP. WP.org software rules, WP.com sucks.

    I hate WP.com, powerful my butt, I cannot edit my own HTML or CSS (like you can in blogger) I cannot tweak anything (like you can in blogger) and I cannot edit CSS unless I pay (which you don’t have to in Blogger) you cannot edit any colors, fonts, layouts or anything like that (unless you pay which you don’t have to but you don’t get any CSS editor to do it with) and you cannot do anything else besides CSS editing. Which sucks. You also have to pay $15 bucks for something that is FREE in blogger.

    Blogger rules big time

    Also, they don’t like girls. Or the colour pink.

    Hmm that tells a story!!!! Doesn’t it?

  8. Stevie said

    Oh and I forgot to mention Automattic have become control freaks in what they want for people to blog about, that tells another story🙄

  9. adam said

    just for correctness’ sake:
    it seems everyone has forgotten about the garland theme, which despite its storied history and goddawful markup, does have the happy little buttons everyone’s clamoring for.

    and it’s not that automattic would have to pay (much*) more to get more themes like it, theundersigned’s striped plus has similar little color selectors.

    *its based on colourmod, which might require a commercial license.

  10. Root said

    I have a color selector theme generator I have written running locally. The core of it is the js selector script. No license involved.

  11. timethief said

    Here we go folks. The new Sandbox version http://wordpress.com/blog/2007/10/19/sandbox-friday/

  12. Wow. I guess bitching pays off! That’s it – no more fanboyerism for me.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

