traditional followup post where i report the censoring of the thread in the previous post

Lucky I had the foresight to take a screenshot of my reply before it mysteriously disappeared, isn’t it?

speechless

I am going away for a couple of days, and when I come back I expect I will be leaving the forums for ever and ever and ever (again). My line has always been that I’m not interested in helping wordpress, I’m interested in helping wordpress users. It’s just that now I’m starting to think that maybe it’s not helpful in the long-term to make it easier for them to blog here.

The purpose of these forums is support.

Anyone care to explain how that snide little line telling options and timethief to piss off constituted ‘support’? Or how it related to the topic of wordpress.com search? Or why I can’t modlook a locked thread?

I am so done with this crap. (Again.) See you next year.

14 Comments »

  1. drmike said

    Funny how your comment got removed why the others remained.

    If the purpose of the forums is support, why does Automattic rely on volunteers to provide that support? I know the company mentions many times how important support is to them. They have a funny way of providing it.

    What’s the point of modlooking? The only ones who can do anything in that case is Trent and other Automattic employees. Matt outranks them all. Only person who is in a position to do anything about the situation (besides Matt and we all know that isn’t going to happen) is Toni and he doesn’t respond to complaints about employees.

    Well maybe the VC’ers as well. Considering they just gave $50 million more, I don’t see that happening as well.

  2. When I see obvious trolling (and if swanning into a forum you barely visit in order to make personal attacks on the regulars isn’t trolling, I’m not sure what is) I want to report it to someone, even if I know there’s not a chance in hell that anything will be done about it.

    If the purpose of the forums is support, why is there an off-topic forum? Don’t tell me that you still can’t move threads in bbPress. I will have to laugh, and that poor little excuse for forum software gets enough mockery as it is.

  3. Richard said

    I have a PDF of the entire thread, but sadly it was made after they removed your comment. I’m just speechless, as you indicated in your comment that disappeared.

  4. Kissing Bandit said

    Totally wild tangent, but after trying both bbPress and the third party Simple Forum plugin, I must say Automattic should just concede that bbPress is a failure and install the third party plugin.

    Easier to install, easier to configure, and guess what? It integrates perfectly with WordPress without any difficult reconfiguration of a server.

    -KB

  5. drmike said

    That’s because Simple Forum’s a plugin. bbpress is not a plugin.

  6. Kissing Bandit said

    @drmike: I know…just making a point that they should stop making things more complicated than they need to be. o one (that I can tell) outside of WP users who wish to integrate their WP installations with a forum have even heard of bbPress, much less use it.

    -KB

  7. Kissing Bandit said

    o one = No one. sorry,

  8. drmike said

    *chuckle* No one’s really heard of simple forum either.😉

    Our wpmu hosting clients use simple forum for the individual blogs and bbpress for the sitewide support forums. The “previously viewed” feature doesn’t work though. We used to use wp-forums but had too many issues and the author pretty much gave up and disappeared.

    I prefer simple forum myself. Seems more like other forum software like phpbb, vbulletin, and the like.

  9. […] all started with this. It was even predicted that it would come to this by […]

  10. […] we do know is that Matt deleted wank’s response from the thread and then wank, options and timethief were all rendered “inactive” and are currently […]

  11. […] New Year Guys traditional followup post where I report the censoring of the thread in the previous post […]

  12. akismet let me through even though I am blatantly a spammer! hurrah!

  13. drmike said

    Wow, they followed up with a spam complaint. Makes them 1 for 107 so far this year.

  14. drmike said

    Wow, had 2 more deleted. Up to 3 for over 300 so far for the year.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

