in which mr snarky runs away. possibly with angie the stats smiley.

I HAVE BEEN DEPRIVED OF MY ROLLEYES SMILEY GODDAMNIT. It’s not appearing on my last post or the last comment in which I used it even though the code is copy-pasted from another comment where it works.

OK so I had been abusing Mr Snarky somewhat of late, but to desert me entirely is just cruel. Come back! I promise I won’t work you so hard. I’ll try to express my exasperation and cynicism through the medium of, you know, words, rather than secondhand emoticons.

(Or, I could just copy the image code and summon him that way:

It’s not the most user-friendly way of summoning smilies, true, but it’s the principle of the thing. I’m not going to stop overusing emoticons just because WordPress thinks I should.)

8 Comments »

  1. somewhere around the release of 2.3, smileys started requiring a blank space before and after. (wp-grins added this at some point, but i can’t be arsed to dig up the changelog).

  2. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet🙄 consectetur adipisicing elit

  3. Nice of them to document it.

    🙄

  4. Andrea said

    I guess I should remain mum on the subject of more smilies, shouldn’t it?:mrgreen:

  5. timethief said

    I have never seen you abusing “Mr. Snarky”. One of the reasons I admire you so much is because you are able to express yourself clearly without becoming nasty. It’s a life lesson that I have yet to learn. You see I’m so damn thin-skinned that I’m still hung up on the crying and running away lesson. Now isn’t that pathetic? I think it deserves a …🙄 (will it work?)

  6. AJ said

    SBK is right. This has been before 2.3. Smileys have required a space before and after for a long time. Just update your previous post putting a space between the : (colon) and the ) (closing parenthesis) and it will show up🙂

  7. drmike said

    What? Yet another guy for Angie? *sigh*

  8. drmike said

    *sigh* I miss Angie. Now you got me thinking of her.😦

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

