glass house

Baby squirrel lulz. To be honest, I still found MT slow last time I tested it, and I think the lack of one-click installs is really hurting them, and as a livejournaller I’m still sort of bitter about the gulag thing, but I do think Anil’s snark is of a whole different class to Matt’s lame cracks about validation errors.

If Matt cares so much about XHTML then maybe wordpress.com could quit stripping the slashes from the <br /> tags in my widgets (no, I don’t like sprinkling linebreaks everywhere either, but I kind of want the spacing on my sidebar not to be screwed up). Validation, like punctuation, is always a glass house in which it is inadvisable to cast the first stone.

16 Comments »

  1. Wolfie said

    The biggest problem that WP has is Matt; I want to move to different software just because the guy is such a hole.

  2. timethief said

    The very reason I’m using the Contempt theme is because it does validate. Many of the old versions of themes we have at wp.com do not validate. Sometime ago now in December I started with a theme that did validate and then I went for it and did nothing other than switch themes and put them through the wc3 online validator. I went through every theme using my test blog and made note of the validation errors which ranged from 18 to 57. In fact, this does not validate issue came up on the support forum again today http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=24026#post-175307

    P.S. You can add to the slash striping, the intermittent error that turns all your p tags into div tags. Then there’s the extra div tags that we have to be cautious of. I didn’t code them in so where the heck do they come from anyway?

  3. Cena said

    Shelley Powers (author of Practical RDF, among others) runs a WP blog. She’s published a number of articles detailing her attempts to to ‘XHTML-ize’ WP’s output. For example:

    ” Input from readers enters WordPress in several different places in the code, most of which do not have hooks allowing us to override the code to provide our own. The only way WordPress will be able to effectively do XHTML is through a commitment to make this a change in the underlying base code.

    Since the WordPress developers have not shown any interest in supporting XHTML, and since I haven’t seen a lot of interest in XHTML support in WordPress from my own explorations and published posts, this is just not a challenge I’ve been eager to take on.” (http://realtech.burningbird.net/development/xhtmlating-feeds/ )

    Also take a look at: http://realtech.burningbird.net/standards/adventures-in-xhtml/ for more comments on WP’s ability to handle XHTML. Sort of ironic, given Matt’s comment to Anil.

  4. My references to Six Apart as baby squirrels are a blatant steal from Shelley😉 although the actual phenomenon (fanboy reframing of all criticism as ad hominem attacks) has always seemed to me more applicable to WP than Six Apart. (Mostly because the way WordPress is run makes ad hominem attacks such as Wolfie’s inevitable. If you will name your company after yourself and structure the OS project as a hierarchy with you as the undisputed head, you’re inviting that sort of identification of yourself with your product. Investors seem to love it but there’s always a downside.)

    I read yesterday that she’s giving up on hacking WP into submission and switching to Drupal. I seem to be hearing a lot of good things about Drupal lately, though of course being a proper CMS it’s not in direct competition with WP, however much the fanboys might delude themselves that WP is a CMS.

  5. Hmm. Since when has a piece of software’s quality been dependant on whether or not its website has valid code? I wonder if Matt chooses his breakfast cereal based on the glossiness of its cardboard box?

  6. Kissing Bandit said

    however much the fanboys might delude themselves that WP is a CMS

    I’d wager that I don’t really fall into the fanboy category, but I will say that WP is a content management system — just a lightweight one. You add content and WordPress manages it.

    Speaking in terms of content management systems, the difference with Drupal and Joomla when compared to WordPress is the fact that they are each more robust; they are capable of handling more types of content in various ways than WordPress by their very nature.

    -KB

  7. Matt said

    This can’t end well.

    The whole thing’s ill-advised, but the last line’s the clencher.

    “What we build will be greater than the sum of its parts because we’ve been a community and open source from the beginning, and always will be.”

    They really need to hire a new Happiness Engineer to keep Matt from making posts like this.

  8. drmike said

    Of course it will end well. Only positive comments that support Matt will show up on his blog. He’ll delete anything that doesn’t.

  9. Kissing Bandit said

    They really need to hire a new Happiness Engineer to keep Matt from making posts like this.

    LOL. Stole the comment right out of my mouth.

    -KB

  10. drmike said

    Actually if Toni did his job and kept Matt in line….

  11. MikeT said

    Yeah, but you get more from Movable Type. A LOT more, if you are a developer or designer. Movable Type, unlike WordPress, has a very simple way of developing new user interfaces that doesn’t involve a lot of inline HTML in print statements, among many cool features😉

  12. […] fundamentalists, kicking baby squirrels, megalomania, wank [This was going to be a comment on my last post, but it was getting so unwieldy I thought I’d promote […]

  13. […] I think we can safely say that Six Apart are still winning the snark […]

  14. […] Looking at his new bloated uberheader, I’d say cod Dali is probably the way to win the hearts of the judges. Also, if you were wondering why there’s no linklove for the guy who converted the comps into code, it’s probably because he’s using a theme by somebody else and that’s never good for one’s credibility. And I’m really, really sorry, but I cannot resist pointing out its utter failure to validate. You know I would never normally be sufficiently assholish to mention that but hey, glass houses. […]

  15. Wank, can you leave that one for a bit please? One of my clients complained about linkedin not following up on spam complaints and I was curious to see if they would in this case. Thanks.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

