priorities

In the course of breaking everything else, they accidentally fixed global tags again. Obviously Matt fixed it as soon as he found out, gaming Google being so much more important than letting people upload images or check their spelling.

I think they will lose a few people over this dashboard thing. 150-post threads where staff do not bother responding are never good. You’d think they’d have put someone on firefighting duty, publically addressing people’s concerns and giving some vague impression that they listen to their users, even if that isn’t actually true. Clearly we are going with the SUP school of community management (‘so what if a vocal minority of customers hate us? they can go cause trouble on someone else’s service’) rather than Six Apart’s (‘we’re so sorry we upset you! we love you! we’re listening! right up to the point we sell you out!’)

Fair enough. I mean, we all know they’re not going to listen to their users, so it would be disingenuous to pretend.

7 Comments »

  1. Kissing Bandit said

    It’s amazing to believe that some people still think that because they can’t see the ads when they’re logged in or viewing in Firefox, then no ads exist.

    If my account weren’t rendered inactive, I’d set this guy straight in a hot minute. Too bad I’m too lazy to set up a fake account just to do it. Hopefully someone else will.

    -KB

  2. Root said

    I think I am beginning to understand some of the WP methodology for new releases.
    By releasing on a weekend they get a big take up, bags of forum feedback, and folk have time to fiddle. Autocrattic meanwhile are not being bothered by investors and corporate crap like that because all those folk are strictly 9 to 5 , Mon thru Fri and w/e in the Hamptons. Plus podz is free from support duties. So Matt and the hackers can go on the mattresses and push out some code and clear the bugs. Sort of brutal, but not a bad plan from a coding standpoint. Kind of compresses the mess. Come Monday you move on.

  3. Lot’s of fun at WP forums, and still isn’t Monday… yet:mrgreen:

    I’m a bit happy, now that I can delete all those blank-tags, thanks that until now there’s a way todo… and hopefull they’ll not come back… thank you wordpress’ bugs.

  4. timethief said

    With regard to priorities I’m wondering if others are experiencing the same Akismet behaviour that I have witnessed for the last week on my blog. I have my blog set so any comment containing more than 2 links goes into moderation. For the past week I have been deleting pages and pages of spam and most of it are single comment posts with hundreds of links in each one. Some have terms that have been blacklisted and overall they are comprised of nothing but a string of sex links that are obviously spammy. Previously I never saw these Akismet as was programmed to detect them as spam and swallowed them whole so I didn’t have to moderate them but now I’m moderating all of them. So has Akismet been programmed to work differently or what?

  5. +1 @ Root.

    I had that thought this weekend. The people who around on weekends, while they whine a bit more, are the more entrenched bloggers: the ones who fiddle with every knob in the dashboard, the ones who’ll find the bugs before the 9-5ers come in.

  6. Root said

    Agreed. And the whining is valuable feedback. WP may not answer it or do a lot of hand holding but in fairness they do generally fix *it*. It’s Matts version of Web 3.0.
    In Web 2.0 the consumer provided the content. In Web 3.0 the consumer helps develop the application.🙂 It has certainly been a very profitable business model for Matt to the tune of $50 M.

  7. timethief said

    @Root and Adam
    I apologize for the off-topic post I made above. (I admit that I’m overly sensitive when it comes to Akismet). Although I do appear to blathering on I am actually taking in your exchange.😉

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

