discouraged

So, I thought I’d get around to updating all my old Sandbox skins to support gravatars, spamlinks related posts and the like. But nuh-uh.

Once more Automattic’s hatred of all things design-related intervenes and I can’t upload .txt files anymore. Like it wasn’t annoying enough being denied .zip and .css. Wait, it gets better. We can’t even pop the CSS in a textarea for people to copy/paste.

What is especially hilarious is that the default text in the ‘edit CSS’ box still says:

Things we encourage include:
* @media blocks!
* sharing your CSS!
* testing in several browsers!
* helping others in the forum!

Let’s leave aside for now the fact that helping others in the forum is emphatically not encouraged: how, exactly, do they want me to share my CSS? Put it in a Word document? Paste the entire 550-line production into one of their ugly sourcecode shortcodes? Host it elsewhere? They really don’t want us using any of that 3gb they so generously ‘gave’ us, do they?

(Of course, the main reason I’m blogging this is to get a response to my support ticket. That’s how it works these days: you fill in the form, and then you blog about it. It’s really about time they bit the bullet and set up an autoresponder, because the current method of having to report things twice isn’t the most efficient.)

10 Comments »

  1. Richard said

    Autoresponders would also give them more time to not respond before the person sent in a duplicate query.

  2. Of course, the main reason I’m blogging this is to get a response to my support ticket. That’s how it works these days: you fill in the form, and then you blog about it.

    Yup.

    I gave up requesting autoresponders. For those of us who actually do support and believe in offering it correctly, you can’t live without them. Helps keep down the “Why hasn’t anyone responded to me” emials that show up every 5-10 minutes afterwards from some folks as well.

  3. Hey, lookie. Staff responses get tagged as such now. I guess someone finally noticed that was an issue after two years of complaining about it.

  4. Josh said

    But, aren’t you like supposed to use pre tags for code blocks?

  5. I guess someone finally noticed that was an issue after two years of complaining about it.

    Most likely the new hirings got pissed off with people failing to realise that they were staff.

    I know I used to bitch about the unprofessionalism of shutting up shop during daylight hours and weekends, but the level of support has definitely deteriorated since it went 24/7. Which was only to be expected: you can’t have quality and quantity.

    Autoresponders would certainly help to reassure me that I hadn’t been fed to Akismet. Even a frustrating bot response is better than a wall of silence.

  6. btw, is there a .com-specific trac install or are we meant to file .com-related bugs at trac.mu?

  7. A com related trac has been mentioned a number of times (I’m sure that’s how that svn on the wp.com themes exists) but I’ve never seen it nor know of the url. And com related bug reports made on the mu trac will probably just get closed with a pointer to the support form on wp.com

  8. Wank, I’m getting the Firefox caught in a redirect loop error when i try to access wankpress.com

  9. Richard said

    One thing I do with small bits of code is to use “pre” tags. It ain’t the best solution, but it works.

  10. Oh, I’d happily use their CSS shortcode for snippets, but the stylesheet for Diurnal is in the region of 550 lines.

    I wonder if I could modify the shortcode CSS so that it would scroll? I could cope with that, but then again feed subscribers might not be overjoyed to have 1k of code dropped on them every time I update.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

