change lightly

We don’t take change lightly, but the good news is that this redesign provides a solid foundation that we’ll be able to build on for the next 5 years of WordPress, just like the last one was basically the same for 5 years.

Years? Don’t you mean ‘months’? It is eight of those, by my reckoning, since the last ‘new dashboard design’ post. You have to love how 2.5 is being erased from the official history before 2.7 is even out of the door. (Also, of course, wordpress.com hasn’t been around for five years, which would make it difficult for its dashboard to have been the same for all that time, though if last April was five years ago in the WP universe I suppose it is feasible enough.)

I had to switch colour schemes to escape the default icons (something about them screams ‘barebones Linux distro’, which was only to be expected given their genesis) but I’m not about to get too angry with or attached to something which will inevitably be superceded come 3.0.

Meanwhile, I want to know who came up with the name ‘blavatar’ and whether they have been punished yet. I was initially baffled by the decision to make people upload new images rather than just using the 16×16 version of their current avatar, but then I remembered — multiple blogs. This way you can vary your favicon from blog to blog. I have no idea why this wasn’t explained in the post. Maybe it was covered in the video, but I don’t bother with videos because I can read.

16 Comments »

  1. 2.5 was a big visual change, but the overall structure of the admin didn’t change — at least not as drastically as it did in 2.7. 2.5 was a big release, but 2.7 has had over 50% more commits per development day. I don’t think we’re going to see a change of that magnitude for a good long while (and remember, 3.0 is just the release after 2.9).

    I favored the alternative icon set as well… thinking about making a plugin that combines a greyscale version of the second set with the default mostly-monochrome admin.

  2. Cat said

    Good to have you back!

    And I dislike the icons too, but until now wasn’t aware I could get rid of them. Thanks!

  3. At least with the roll-out of 2.7 you could tell they’d learned a few lessons from botched intros past. Remember the fiasco of the flash media uploader? No warning, nada – buggy and a firestorm backlash. This time they allowed you to vote on the changes, told you for weeks beforehand when it was coming, had a timing countdown to the minute, everything – and they had staff on hand in the forums and support to answer queries from dolts like me who couldn’t find stuff. I’d say they did all right.

  4. Kissing Bandit said

    Yes, TGA, welcome back. Was beginning to miss all the wanky fun.😉

    @Mark: Rather than trying to explain away the comment using geek-speak, it would have been far easier to edit Matt’s original comment to say “restructuring” instead of “redesign”. That way, it doesn’t sound as sheisty.

  5. Ben M said

    I’m really happy that I managed to svn one of the ‘hemorrhage’ revisions of 2.7. It has some of the admin restructuring (back when they were putting posts and pages in content, tags & categories in organization, etc) without all of the icons and convoluted menu access. Although a very pre-release, it’s been stable for me. I’ve usually upgraded to the most recent version of WP shortly after each release because benefits would outnumber detriments by at least one. However, the 2.7 final restructuring racks up too many points in the detriment column for me to even consider the upgrade. Looks like I’ll be using ‘hemorrhage’ for 5 years (or when Habari reaches a point I can make good on my threats to fully switch over, whichever comes first).

    (You can also add me to the list of those happy to see another post from you.)

  6. I favored the alternative icon set as well… thinking about making a plugin that combines a greyscale version of the second set with the default mostly-monochrome admin.

    Oh, please do. I’d guess that most of those who preferred the more understated and professional look of the second set would also prefer the grey colour scheme, and those who like the default might well prefer the blue.

    This time they allowed you to vote on the changes, told you for weeks beforehand when it was coming, had a timing countdown to the minute, everything – and they had staff on hand in the forums and support to answer queries from dolts like me who couldn’t find stuff.

    Well, they’ve hired and acquired enough staff to be able to handle major transitions now. Even as recently as this spring, they didn’t have anyone to spare for firefighting.

    I still don’t understand why they bothered with 2.5. If they didn’t have the money to carry out the usability tests earlier, they should have left things as they were and waited until they could do things properly, rather than annoy everyone with a half-assed temporary job.

  7. I see Timethief has been let back into the forums. Still no reply to any of my support tickets though.

  8. Kissing Bandit said

    Almost off-topic, but I find it rather hilarious that the dev blog announces WP 2.7 RC2 on the morning of 12/10 and then announces the release of WP 2.7 stable the night of 12/10 (Don’t let the post date–12/11–fool you, according to my calendar and clock, it’s still 12/10). That’s the quickest RC testing cycle I’ve seen in a while.

    • You’d be ever so slightly annoyed if you’d downloaded the release candidate and found it was obsolete within hours, wouldn’t you?

  9. Kissing Bandit said

    I believe “ever so slightly” is putting it mildly.😉

  10. Or find out that the copy you got was hacked. (Glad we always wait a day or two if we can before rolling out an upgrade.)

  11. whatev said

    Well, you can upgrade from the backend now so downloading RC2 wouldn’t be catastrophic. The files that changed will just get downloaded.

    The big wankery is in the whole cleansing of the WP.org themes directory, not because the themes weren’t GPL but because those authors either sold or linked to “premium” themes on their personal sites (linked in the footer). So if your own site, that gets an allowable footer or even dexpscription link either has an ad for a premium theme or you sell themes yourself, you’re now the equivalent of a spammer.

    Makes me glad I use Expression Engine.

  12. Kissing Bandit said

    What you’re neglecting to realize “whatev” is that there are some people out there who prefer to manually update their WP installations rather than use the auto-upgrade feature (and some people cannot due to host restrictions), so although it may not be considered a huge inconvenience to some, it is to others.

    Plus, the RC wasn’t even out long enough for any of the RC testers to discover any possible bugs or offer feature enhancement suggestions. Not catastrophic, but annoying (and silly) nonetheless.

    Themes is a completely different kettle of worms, but it seems you’ve only looked at a few biased posts on the topic here and there.

    Enjoy Expression Engine.

  13. Alan said

    WordPress has been around a little longer than five years.

  14. Alan said

    oops delete that last post…I didn’t read .com

  15. Becca said

    Eh, I dunno. I’ve upgraded to 2.7 and I’m pretty happy overall. Not to get off subject , but I don’t comment on here much and I love this site and I was wondering if you happened to read the recent article about hot job skills for 2008 that features WordPress. In fact, it shows wordpress trends as having increased by 4 times from that of the previous year. I found this encouraging (and figured I’d share) because in this economy, it’s good to be a part of something that is actually in demand.

    Curious what you thought of it. Looking forward to your next post.🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

