i <3 blogger

Hands up who’s in love with the fact that the corporate sponsors of wordpress.com’s first LJ-style competition host their own blog on blogspot?

Sadly, since the contest requires the use of expensive proprietary software (needless to say, I am not the only person to have noticed the incongruity here) there has not been a huge response from the freeloaders of .com and Automattic have had to resort to plugging it on ma.tt.

Looking at his new bloated uberheader, I’d say cod Dali is probably the way to win the hearts of the judges. Also, if you were wondering why there’s no linklove for the guy who converted the comps into code, it’s probably because he’s using a theme by somebody else and that’s never good for one’s credibility. And I’m really, really sorry, but I cannot resist pointing out its utter failure to validate. You know I would never normally be sufficiently assholish to mention that but hey, glass houses.

7 Comments »

  1. It is interesting how quickly he’s to point out validation issues on other sites but I don’t think has even gotten it right on his own. Hmm, imagine that.

  2. Ray said

    So far I notice that there are 3 types of comments on that competition: 1) how do I submit, 2) what do we need to do and 3) “Great Post” (loving the backlinkery). Christ those people are unable to read. And for an All-Star judging panel, who are those people who aren’t Matts?

    And that new design is horrible – on the plus side, it pushes the post noise off the page.

    • If English is your first language, I think the chances of your comment making it out of moderation take a nosedive.

  3. Hi,
    First, I wanted to say thanks for the link love!
    Second, I’d like to clarify a few things if you don’t mind.

    As far as my credibility goes, you’ve probably never heard of me because I don’t usually do contract Web Development. I work full time as a Senior Web Developer for another company, so I rarely have the time or energy to take on any side projects. Matt’s site is a special case for me though.

    I am not much of a blogger. That is why my personal site has been sitting around collecting dust for years. I keep telling myself that someday I’ll get motivated and blog about something.

    I’ve never made the time to code my own theme for WordPress, maybe someday.

    For the validation issues on Matt’s site, some of those errors are cause by plug-ins that I do not control. I will take complete responsibility for the others though. Rest assured I do plan on fixing them soon.

    I do enjoy constructive criticism so don’t be shy!
    Have a great day.

    • You’re welcome to the linklove, I’m only sorry Matt couldn’t do the same😉

      As regards validation, on an active blog with open comments and multiple plugins it’s rarely more than a pipe dream, and probably not one worth pursuing unless your site is explicitly concerned with advocating standards. (It bugs the hell out of me when I see downloadable themes with a hardcoded ‘valid xhtml’ link; designers can’t ensure that the end user will keep the code valid, so they shouldn’t advertise it as such.) The only reason I mention it is that Matt has used failure to validate as a stick to beat his rivals’ sites with in the past.

      • I completely agree with you about the themes with the hard coded validator links.
        It is nearly impossible to keep a website standards compliant when you allow user generated content. I am also a bit of a perfectionist, and though you can’t always fix everything, however, I firmly believe that if you can fix it, you should. The huge amount of validation errors on Matt’s site is also related to the threaded comments. It’s the same error looped over and over. This may be a bug that I introduced, and I’m working on a patch for it. It wont fix everything, but it should take care of a lot of them.

      • From what I’ve seen with theme designers in general, not just WordPress ones, they only validate the front page and leave the subpages alone. That gets around the user content causing problems issue.

        I know on our wpmu installs, we’re having to run sitewide feeds through feedburner just to get them to validate and show up elsewhere. Lots of fun.

        We also removed the validation links from the meta widgets. Just to be on the same side.🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

