the smiley liberation front

I am now so enraged by the mysterious disappearance of my beloved roll-eyes smiley, and the replacement without notice of ALL existing smilies with anaemic substitutes and the lack of any response to my bug report concerning same, that I need all you logged-in people to go along and rate this FAQ as Very Poor, at least until it stops telling lies. != .

(Yes, I know, there he is. But I need him in comments! And for some bizarro reason even though I can post VIDEOS in OTHER PEOPLE’S comment threads I can’t post an ickle 16×16 gif in my OWN, even though there is a clearly visible BUTTON in the edit window inviting me to insert an image. In what universe does this make any form of sense? I told you I was enraged.)

Would you go into my blog and change the font or header image without my say-so? No, you would not, so quit messing with our content and give us the option to choose the old smilies. We know they are not things of great beauty and they do not match the floofy backend, but at least you can see what they’re supposed to be.

17 Comments »

  1. Ben M said

    It seems that it has to do with our dear friend GPL. I thought the GPL hoopla wasn’t that big of a deal. Unless I misunderstand this, I think they’re taking the GPL thing a little too far.

    • The old smilies are the same ones as phpBB uses, so I’ve always assumed they were kosher. Then again, when he invented b2 Michel wasn’t terribly well-informed about the GPL (he thought it was OK to demand a linkback), so possibly not.

  2. sensico said

    I agree, and though I want the old smilies back, I was pretty much content with the change until I realized theres no eye roll smiley. Now older posts that used this smiley will look weird as people will think I use😛 intentionally. In no way does😛 give off the same meaning as the eye roll smiley.
    btw, the posting youtube videos in comments was ridiculous without giving blog owners an option of whether they want this or not. It was also an unnecessary change, I mean who was really asking for youtube videos to show in comments section, if anything people would prefer pictures in comment.

  3. Hold on, it puts in the tongue-sticking-out smiley in place of the rolling eyes one? That’s just ridiculous.

  4. KB said

    Automattic probably got tired of people rolling their eyes at the things they do and decided to nip it in the bud once and for all…

  5. Dave Bonta said

    They’re inviting suggestions for new smileys. Why not take them at their word? http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/new-smilies?replies=32#post-356590

    • Probably because I am still not permitted to post in the forums. Clearly they are worried I would deviate from the standard topic of ‘hi! visit my new blog at http://clubpenguinisdashiznit.wordpress.com!!!!’ [insert eyeroll here]

      The replacements might be bearable if they popped them into photoshop and upped the contrast on them (no reason why they can’t, they’re GPL after all) but there’s still no eyeroll. A monkey (wtf do I want with a monkey? seriously? even if I did know how to summon him?), but no eyeroll. Even if I were to break the habit of rolling my virtual eyes, what am I supposed to do about all the previous times I’ve used that smiley?

      I did start looking for alternatives that somebody could suggest on my behalf, but then I thought; hang on, don’t Automattic have staff who could be doing this? Why is it up to the users to fix things when they screw up? All they needed to do was source a GPL-compatible set that directly corresponded with their current selection of emoticons, maybe throwing in a few extra ones to compensate the change-averse. If they can’t manage that, then they should have another competition and get some hapless student to make them a replacement set for free. In the meantime, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

      • Dave Bonta said

        don’t Automattic have staff who could be doing this?
        I just don’t think you understand the community spirit. We’re all about community here. That, for example, is why we should welcome global tags/categories… oh, wait. O.K., nevermind.

  6. Looks like Automattic have dispatched their staff to vote this up, as it is now on 2 1/2 stars from 2 a few days ago. Do they have nothing better to do? Like, I don’t know, fix the damn smilies?

    • options said

      might be worth bringing up this quote. follow the link to the ma.tt and you’ll see the originator of the “sexier” (see the ticket description) smilies.

      since this patch is already commited into core, I think the smilies are considered to be fixed.

      as they say here, “idiocy is permanent.” I kind of like how they prefer to test such “enhancements” foisting them off upon the snow-lovers first. *smile*

  7. T3CK said

    Just to let everyone know the old smileys are Back!!!🙂

    • Sometimes I think they only break stuff so that people will squeal with delight when they fix it.😉

  8. inpumbships said

    This looks cool so far, what’s up people?
    If it’s not just all bots here, let me know. I’m looking to network
    Oh, and yes I’m a real person LOL.

    Later,

    • drmike said

      OH MY GOD! The Bots have gained intelligence! RUN! RUN! Run for your lives!😉

      • The bots have learned enough to deny they are bots. You know, like Google learned enough to deny they were evil😉

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

